YOU ARE HERE: HeraldMail HomeCollectionsWva

Some candidates file pre-candidacy papers in W.Va.

January 02, 2004|by CANDICE BOSELY

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. - Although the official candidate filing period in West Virginia does not begin for almost two weeks, several people have filed paperwork to run for a variety of offices.

In Berkeley County, as of Wednesday, five people had filed pre-candidacy paperwork - which allows them to raise money earlier than usual.

The official filing period runs from Jan. 12 to midnight Jan. 31.

Positions that are up for election in Berkeley County are: sheriff, prosecuting attorney, circuit clerk, county clerk, assessor, all five magistrate seats, one of the three county commission seats, county surveyor, two of the five Board of Education seats, all House of Delegates seats and the state senator seat held by Sen. Herb Snyder, D-Jefferson, according to election officials.

No incumbents filed the optional pre-candidacy paperwork.

Among those who filed the paperwork was Preston Gooden, of Nestle Quarry Road, Falling Waters, W.Va. A former county sheriff, Gooden filed to run as a Republican for the assessor's seat.


Insurance agent Ronald Collins, of Braddock Boulevard, Inwood, W.Va., filed to run as a Republican for the County Commission seat held by John Wright. Commissioners Steve Teufel and Howard Strauss are not up for re-election.

Curtis Keller, of Montmorency Drive in Bunker Hill, W.Va., also filed as a Republican for the County Commission seat. Keller formerly worked as a deputy with the Berkeley County Sheriff's Department.

Thomas Grove, of Thompson Street, Martinsburg, a Republican, is seeking a magistrate position; and Wayne Gordon Davis, of Brannons Ford Road in Gerrardstown, W.Va., is a Democrat seeking the sheriff's position.

Board of Education members Bill Norris and Bill Queen are up for re-election this year. Those seeking a spot on the Board of Education run as nonpartisan candidates and will be elected during the primary election, scheduled for May 11.

Although magistrates affiliate themselves with a political party, they essentially are elected without party affiliation during the general election, set for Nov. 2. At that time, the top five vote-getters, regardless of party affiliation, win the seats. The incumbents are Sandra Miller, Joan Bragg, Harry Snow, Kristy Greer and Scott Paugh.

The Herald-Mail Articles