Barrett wins second straight Kennedy Award

Bulldogs QB Sowers finishes second in voting

Bulldogs QB Sowers finishes second in voting

December 22, 2003|by TIM KOELBLE

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. - There have been players such as Randy Moss and Curt Warner have had their names associated with the Kennedy Award as West Virginia's best high school football player.

Not even Moss and Warner, both of whom went on to star in college and the pros, won the Kennedy Award twice during their scholastic careers.

For the second consecutive year, Martinsburg's Brandon Barrett has added the Kennedy Award to his list of accomplishments, becoming the fifth athlete to win the award twice.


Barrett compiled 119 points with 31 first-place ballots, while his teammate, quarterback Nate Sowers, came in second with 78 points and 12 first-place votes.

"His award says a lot about our team, because guys who win usually play on some good teams," Martinsburg coach Dave Walker said.

The 6-foot-2, 185-pound Barrett snagged 91 passes for 1,431 yards and 26 touchdowns in his senior season. Overall, he racked up 31 TDs, including rushing and return scores.

Barrett finished his career with 253 receptions for 4,717 yards and a state-record 74 TD receptions. He scored 88 touchdowns in all for the Bulldogs, who were 45-7 and made two trips to the state finals in Barrett's four years.

"We felt Brandon had great potential when he first started," Walker said. "He had great skills, ran well, had good hands and did all the little things well."

The fleet-footed wide receiver announced Dec. 12 that he will attend West Virginia University, where he could see playing time as a freshman.

"It's hard to say whether he will play or redshirt," Walker said. "I think he has the ability to play some right away. But even being redshirted would be a win-win situation because he would have time to learn the college game, which is so much faster."

Moss won the Kennedy award in 1994 at DuPont High School, went on to Marshall University and is with the Minnesota Vikings. Warner won the award in 1978 at Pineville High School and went to Penn State University before his NFL career.

The only previous winners from the Eastern Panhandle were Musselman quarterback Todd Mosby in 1999 and Hedgesville running back Frank Aliveto in 1995.

Nitro's J.R. House (1996, 1998) was the last player to win the award twice.

The Kennedy Award, voted on by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association, was first presented in 1947.

The Herald-Mail Articles