School briefs

December 08, 2003|by

ACT Assessment date is Feb. 7

The next national test date for the ACT Assessment is Feb. 7, 2004. College-bound students should register by Jan. 2, 2004, postmark deadline. Late registration postmark deadline is Jan. 16 (an additional fee is required for late registration).

Students can register online at or they can get a registration packet from their high school guidance counselor and register by mail. The Web site also has sample test questions and a link to a free financial aid calculator.

The test fee is $26.

Students who already have taken the ACT can retest and try for a higher score. Students who test more than once can choose which scores to report to prospective colleges.

College library announces semester break schedule

SHEPHERDSTOWN, W.Va. - The Shepherd College library will observe the following hours during semester break: Saturday, Dec. 13, and Sunday, Dec. 14, closed; Monday, Dec. 15, through Friday, Dec. 19, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 20, and Sunday, Dec. 21, closed; Monday, Dec. 22, and Tuesday, Dec. 23, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Wednesday, Dec. 24, through Sunday, Jan. 4, 2004, closed; Monday, Jan. 5, through Friday, Jan. 9, 2004, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturday, Jan. 10, and Sunday, Jan. 11, 2004, closed; Monday, Jan. 12, 2004, begin spring semester schedule.


For information, call 1-304-876-5421.

Shepherd Community and Technical College to conduct registration

SHEPHERDSTOWN, W.Va. -The Community and Technical College of Shepherd will conduct evening registration for new and returning students for spring semester 2004 on Monday, Dec. 22, from 5 to 8 p.m. at the Dunn Building of the former Blue Ridge Outlets, 400 W. Stephen St., Martinsburg, W.Va.

Both degree- and nondegree-seeking students will have the opportunity to meet with an academic adviser and register for classes scheduled to begin Monday, Jan. 12, 2004.

For information, call the Community College at 1-304-260-4380 or visit the Web site

Phi Theta Kappa members inducted at HCC

Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society at Hagerstown Community College, inducted 54 members on Nov. 16 in the College's Kepler Theater. To be eligible for the honor, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher and must have completed 12 credit hours of college-level work at HCC as a full-time student, or 24 credit hours of college-level work at HCC as a part-time student.

New members are:

From Hagerstown: Timothy Bikle, Tracy Buzzard, Amy Campbell, Page Cary, Clyde Constant, Christopher Cullen, Sandra Itnyre Degenhardt, Emmanuel Dela Cruz, Bradley Duvall, Jennifer Gilliam, LeighAnn Hewitt, Regina Jordan, Sheryl Kaniski, Brandie Kline, Jennifer Kline, Hannah Leatherman, Kay Malott, Robin Miller, Sarah Moser, Chad Mullenix, Christina Pillis, Michael Price, Joshua Ramsburg, Kevin Robertson, Alaina Rowe, Lexi Salvagni, Dawn Spickler, Ricky Sutton, Katie Watson, Vicki West and Ryan Williams.

From Hancock: Alise Appel and Charity Yost

From Funkstown: Tracy Wolford

From Big Pool: Elyse Carr

From Smithsburg: Andrea Covell, Erin Ross and April Thompson

From Sharpsburg: Kimberly Marshall

From Myersville: Christina Bariatti and Jason Bariatti

From Williamsport: Kristin Singhas and Graham Stewart

From Frederick: Joshua Rhodericktt

From McConnellsburg, Pa.: Lisa Ashley and Roxanna Mello

From Chambersburg, Pa.: Anastasia Coffman and Justin Timmons

From Greencastle, Pa.: Nicole Heck and Marsha Ocker

From Waynesboro, Pa.: Billie Cole, Peggy Fetterhoff, Denise Howell and Lisa Lynch

From Fayetteville, Pa.: ZeeZee Ehrhart

From Berkeley Springs, W.Va.: Angeline Seibel

From Hedgesville, W.Va.: Crystal Winman

The Herald-Mail Articles