School board briefs

December 03, 2003|by PEPPER BALLARD

Forrest, Ober take leadership roles

The Washington County Board of Education on Tuesday unanimously agreed to elect W. Edward Forrest as its new president and Roxanne R. Ober as its new vice president.

Forrest exchanged seats with former school board President Bernadette M. Wagner and Ober exchanged seats with former Vice President Paul W. Bailey, both of whom took their posts last December.

The 7-0 votes, taken near the start of the Tuesday night meeting, moved each of the newly elected officers into their new positions.

Schools Superintendent Elizabeth Morgan commended Wagner and Bailey for their work over the past year.

Wagner nominated Forrest and Bailey nominated Ober. No other nominations were made.

Master Plan approved by state

Schools Superintendent Elizabeth Morgan said the Washington County Board of Education's Master Plan was approved by the Maryland State Department of Education with no recommendations.

Reading program being implemented

The Washington County Board of Education on Tuesday approved 7-0 to sign on with Scientific Learning Corp. to implement a reading program in 17 schools using a $119,883 grant.

FastForward is a program that teachers may use to give students extra help with reading comprehension.

Donation of books, bookcases gets nod

The Washington County Board of Education on Tuesday approved 7-0 a $4,375 donation of books and bookcases to Smithsburg Middle School.

The items were donated by Adair Eves, a mentor resource teacher in the Center for Peak Performance and Productivity in Washington County Public Schools.

Teachers honored for certification

The Washington County Board of Education on Tuesday commended three teachers who have received National Board certification.

Linda Barnhart, a music teacher at Paramount Elementary School, Diane Mentzer, a library media specialist at Paramount Elementary School, and Karen Palmer, a kindergarten teacher at Pangborn Elementary School, received national certification, a teacher certification that requires the completion of a rigorous, multiyear course involving training, practice and evaluation.

Percussion trio, teacher awarded

The Washington County Board of Education on Tuesday recognized the Fountaindale School for Arts and Academic Excellence percussion trio: Guyton Cade, Grant Starkey and Micah Christensen.

The boys were named World Class Performers and were given Golden Apple Awards for their "outstanding musical talents." Their teacher, Sharilyn Bovey, also received a Golden Apple Award and was named a World Class Educator.

FFA members, sponsors honored

The Washington County Board of Education on Tuesday recognized the Clear Spring High School chapter of Future Farmers of America for winning a team gold medal and two individual gold medals, along with silver and bronze awards, at the 75th National FFA Convention.

FFA chapter members and faculty sponsors received Golden Apple awards and were named World Class students and educators.

The members of the winning chapter are Sara Wiles, Dan Kesner, Erin Lewis, Tara Brown, Katrina Hendershot, Stephanie Moore, Ashley Keeney, Karen Worthington, Courtney Robinson, Becky Funk, Josh Lowman, Ryan Shank, Hannah Smith, Joel Fitz and Justin Frey. Faculty sponsors are Theresa Shank and Susan Lowery.

The Herald-Mail Articles