Incumbents re-elected to council

November 04, 2003|by MARLO BARNHART

CLEAR SPRING - Mayor Paul Hose Jr. and two incumbent council members - Mason Mundey and Gary Grove - were returned to office for two more years in Monday's Clear Spring town election.

With 66 ballots cast, Hose received 63 votes, according to Town Clerk Juanita Grimm. There were 56 votes cast for Mundey and 39 for Grove.

Newcomer Timothy Bonds received 24 votes and said he was pleased with his showing.

"That's great for a first-time effort," Bonds said as he waited for the vote tally after the polling place closed at 7 p.m.


Bonds, 35, is a correctional officer with the Maryland Division of Correction.

The other challenger, Samuel H. Chapman III, received seven votes. Chapman, 41, is a plumber employed by Fridinger-Ritchie Co. He was unavailable for comment following the election.

Hose, 56, has been mayor since 1984, except for one two-year period in the early 1990s. A Mack Trucks employee, Hose said he is committed to the Clear Spring community that he has called home since 1970.

"It just seems natural to me," Hose said about being mayor. "I've been doing it for so long, it is just my way of contributing to Clear Spring."

Hose was on hand as the polls closed, as was Mundey, who arrived in time to learn he had been returned to office.

"I'm not only pleased with the outcome, I'm happy about the turnout," said Mundey, 68.

Grimm said the turnout wasn't a record, but it was respectable. A quick check of her records indicated a couple of elections with bigger turnouts, including the 1979 election when more than 100 people voted.

Grove, who voted by absentee ballot, was unavailable for comment. A correctional officer with the Maryland Division of Correction, Grove is 55.

Lauren Staley, 12, a seventh-grader at Clear Spring Middle School, monitored the Kids Vote election, which mirrored the real one Monday.

Thirteen young people cast their ballots, Staley said. Hose and Bonds each got 11 votes, Grove had eight votes, Mundey five votes and Chapman one.

To vote in the Clear Spring election, voters must be able to prove they live within the town limits. Election judges were Toni Hose, Hartzell Rohrer and Faye McCarty.

The Herald-Mail Articles