Tri-State laws vary regarding work permits for minors

August 25, 2003|by JULIE E. GREENE

Work rules for minors vary from state to state so parents and students should check with their state's labor department for specifics.

A worker's permit is required for some age groups and there are restrictions on what kinds of jobs minors can hold. There also are restrictions concerning how many hours they can work when school is in session and during summer break.

In Maryland, minors ages 14 to 17 cannot work without a work permit, according to the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.


Children ages 14 and 15 cannot work more than four hours on a school day or more than 23 hours a week when school is in session, according to the Maryland Labor Department's Web site.

Those who are 16 and 17 years old cannot spend more than 12 hours a day in school and work, the Web site states.

Work permits are issued at secondary schools and by some government-sponsored summer job programs, the Maryland Division of Labor and Industry and the Ocean City, Md., Police Department, the site states.

In Pennsylvania, work permits are referred to as employment certificates. They are required for anyone younger than 18 and are issued by school officials, according to the Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry.

Teenagers ages 14 and 15 can work no more than four hours on a school day and no more than 18 hours during a school week from Monday to Friday, according to the Labor Department.

For 16- and 17-year-olds, eight hours on a school day is the limit. They cannot work more than 28 hours during the five-day school week.

In West Virginia, work permits are needed for youths ages 14 and 15. Age certificates can be required for youths ages 16 and 17. Both permits and certificates can be obtained through county boards of education.

Youths ages 14 and 15 can work between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m., but not during school hours, according to the West Virginia Division of Labor.

The Herald-Mail Articles