Council, recorder seats up for grabs in election

June 10, 2003|by DAVE McMILLION

HARPERS FERRY, W.Va. - Voters in Harpers Ferry will head to the polls today to cast ballots for Town Council and recorder posts.

Jim Addy, who is finishing his first two-year term as mayor, is running unopposed in today's election.

The five incumbent council members running for re-election are Charlotte Thompson, John Fox, Frieda Kidwell, Peter Bradford and Dan Riss.

Also running for council are Greg Dean, Sharon Spriggs and Al Alsdorf.

Recorder Nancy Spencer is running for re-election against challenger Holly Davies.

All voting will be conducted at the Camp Hill-Wesley United Methodist Church at 601 Washington St. Voters can cast ballots at the church from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. today.

The neighboring town of Bolivar, W.Va., held its election last Tuesday.

In that race, all incumbent council members were re-elected except for Scott Whetsel, who was replaced by Mary Rutherford.

Tim Collins, who resigned as mayor in March, received 74 votes, according to returns. Despite his resignation, Collins' name remained on the ballot because of the timing of his resignation.


Because he was the top vote-getter for mayor, Collins will have to decide whether he wants the job, said council member Jenny Bruell, who was appointed mayor after Collins resigned.

Neither Collins or Bruell could be reached for comment Monday night.

The Herald-Mail Articles