Alsdorf wins spot on town's council

June 10, 2003|by DAVE McMILLION

HARPERS FERRY, W.Va. - Except for John Fox, all incumbent Town Council members won re-election in Harpers Ferry's election Tuesday.

Fox, who received 66 votes, will be replaced by newcomer Al Alsdorf, who received 87 votes, according to complete, but unofficial results.

Holly Davies defeated Nancy Spencer by an 86-vote spread in the race for recorder, according to returns.

Davies collected 108 votes compared to Spencer's 22 votes, according to returns.

The incumbent council members and their winning numbers were: Charlotte Thompson, 100 votes; Dan Riss, 93; Frieda Kidwell, 87; and Peter Bradford, 76, according to returns.

The two remaining council candidates were Sharon Spriggs, who received 38 votes, and Greg Dean, who received 27, according to returns.


Mayor Jim Addy, who ran unopposed in Tuesday's race, received 118 votes, according to returns.

The term for mayor and council members is two years.

On July 1, the salary for mayor and recorder will be $2,000 per year and council members will be paid $1,400, Addy said.

The town's population is about 325 and there are about 250 registered voters, Addy said.

The Herald-Mail Articles