Results mixed for incumbents in Franklin County

May 22, 2003|by DON AINES

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - It was a mixed night for incumbents in Franklin County's municipal primary, as two county commissioners and the sheriff held off challengers within their own party, but three Chambersburg School Board members and a district justice were among those ousted, according to complete but unofficial election results.


In the Republican primary for Greencastle Borough Council, incumbent Don A. Coldsmith led all seven candidates for the three nominations with 277 votes. Incumbent Harold E. Duffey also won a nomination with 257 votes. The third nomination went to Jerry Pool with 230 votes, according to county election figures.

One incumbent in the race, Harry S. Myers, finished fourth in the race for the three nominations for the Nov. 4 general election. He was appointed in February to fill a vacancy on the board.


Coldsmith, Duffey and Pool will run unopposed in the November election.


Incumbent Quincy Township Supervisor Kerry L. Bumbaugh lost the Republican nomination to Wilbur "Wib" Sanders. Sanders had 256 votes to 236 for Bumbaugh, according to election results.

In Washington Township, Christopher A. Firme, with 525 votes, won the GOP nomination for township supervisor over Jeffery L. Zody, who received 431 votes. Firme is running to replace Supervisor Paul Benchoff, who is retiring at the end of the year.

Peters Township incumbent Galen K. Heckman lost the GOP nomination to Roger W. Price. Price collected 245 votes to Heckman's 160.

William Cline won the Democratic nomination for Greene Township supervisor over Philip Fiskett, 364 to 113. Cline will face Glenn O. Shetter in the fall election. Shetter, who was appointed supervisor to fill a vacancy earlier this year, was unopposed for the GOP nomination.

Incumbent Hamilton Township Supervisor James C. Hollenshead beat challenger Ronald Hunsecker 800 to 198 for the GOP nomination. Letterkenny Township Supervisor Charles H. Myers held off challenger Barry W. Atherton, 155 to 141.

Joe Reese beat Norman Appleby 168 to 29 for the GOP nomination for an open seat on the Lurgan Township Board of Supervisors. Southampton Township Supervisor Samuel F. Cressler was the winner of a three-way race for the GOP nomination with 171 votes to 108 for Jack Sease and 76 for Barry E. Perry Sr.

There were no candidates for many local races, but some people could be nominated as write-in candidates if they received at least 10 votes for a township or borough office, according to election rules.


Waynesboro voters selected Richard L. "Dick" George over Michael J. Cermak 49 to 23 for the Democratic nomination for the Ward 1 borough council seat. Andrew J. Benchoff won the GOP nomination for Ward 3 over Ken Koll, 142 to 87.

Both seats are open as is a Ward 2 seat for which no candidate filed on either side of the ballot.


Three of the five incumbents from the Chambersburg School Board will not be on the ballot in November.

Incumbent Penny W. Stoner lost to Lori Leedy in both the Republican and Democratic primaries in Region 5. David Sciamanna defeated incumbent Michael B. Finucane in both primaries for Region 7 and Harold W. Fosnot Jr. lost to newcomer Renee Sharpe in both primaries in Region 8.

In school board races, candidates can cross-file to run on both the Republican and Democratic ballots.

Board President Stanley J. Helman won the Region 2 Republican nomination over opponents Larry L. Hoover and Kirby Hockensmith. In the GOP primary, Helman received 362 votes, Hoover received 236 and Hockensmith received 58. Helman also defeated Hoover for the Democratic nomination, 152 votes to 147. Hockensmith did not cross-file for the Democratic primary.

Craig Musser, the Region 9 incumbent, won his GOP primary against Matthew J. Sites, 147 votes to 90, and was unopposed for the Democratic nomination.

Republican County Commissioners Bob Thomas and G. Warren Elliott secured their party nominations against a challenge by Scott H. Blanchard of Greencastle. Thomas collected 9,018 votes to 8,858 for Elliott and 2,915 for Blanchard.

In the Nov. 4 general election Elliott and Thomas, who are both running for a third term, will face off against Democrats Cheryl Plummer and Don Richards. Plummer is also seeking her third term on the board, while Richards is chairman of the Franklin County Democratic Committee.

The top three candidates in the general election will form the three-member board of commissioners.

Sheriff Robert B. Wollyung stood off a strong challenge by one of his former deputies, Dane Anthony, winning 5,995 to 4,961. A third candidate in the GOP primary, Peters Township Constable Roger A. Blattenberger had 787 votes.

One of the sheriff candidates may also pick up the Democratic nomination on write-in votes. A minimum of 100 votes is needed to secure a nomination for countywide office.

The official count, which will include tabulating the write-ins from the 75 precincts, begins Friday.

The Herald-Mail Articles