Uncontested races are numerous

May 21, 2003

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - Dozens of candidates were running uncontested in Tuesday's primary election and won their party nominations.

The following candidates won uncontested races and will appear on the ballot in the general election on Nov. 4. Open positions for which no one filed are not listed.

Franklin County

Clerk of Courts: William E. Vandrew, Republican.

Controller: Carol Fix Diller, Republican.

Coroner: Jeffrey R. Conner, Republican.

County Commissioners: Cheryl Plummer and Don Richards, Democrats.

District Attorney: John F. Nelson, Republican.

Prothonotary: Linda L. Beard, Republican.

Register and Recorder: Linda Miller, Republican.


  • Antrim Township

    Township Supervisor: James C. Byers and Robert Whitmore, Republicans.

  • Greene Township

    Auditor: Thomas A. Buckus, Republican.

    Township Supervisor: Glenn O. Shetter, Republican.

  • Guilford Township

    Auditor: Harold L. Armstrong, Republican.

    Constable: Gerald E. Spielman, Republican.

    Township Supervisor: Greg Cook, Republican.

  • Hamilton Township

    Auditor: Richard K. Troup, Republican.

    Constable: Gregory A. Rosenberry, Republican.

  • Letterkenny Township

    Auditor (six-year term): Kathryn Johnson, Republican.

  • Montgomery Township

    Auditor: Gisela Rice, Republican.

    Township Supervisor: William T. Coble, Republican.

  • Peters Township:

    Auditor: M. Eugene Hawbaker, Republican.

    Constable: Roger A. Blattenberger, Republican.

  • Washington Township

    Constable: Ronald Larsen, Republican.

  • Boroughs

    • Chambersburg

      Councilperson, Ward 1: William F. McLaughlin, Republican.

      Councilperson, Ward 2: Ruth M. Harbaugh, Republican.

      Councilperson, Ward 3: Elaine M Swartz, Republican.

      Councilperson, Ward 4: Sharon Bigler, Democrat.

      Councilperson, Ward 5: Robert A. Wareham Sr., Republican.

    • Mercersburg

      Constable: Dennis L. Bennett, 121 Overhill Drive, Republican.

      Councilperson (four-year term): Joshua C. Meyers, Democrat; Michele Quattrociocchi and Michael A. Schaub, Republicans.

    School boards

    • Greencastle-Antrim School Board

      Jill A. Patterson, cross-filed; Ronald Troskoski, cross-filed; David E. Delauter, cross-filed; Hal Myers, cross-filed; Howard B. Ritchey, cross-filed.

    • Tuscarora School Board

      Gale Sam Bricker, cross-filed; Larry Buchanan, cross-filed; Guy N. Hollenshead, cross-filed; Michael J. Rice, cross-filed; Terrie L. Robinson, cross-filed.

    • Waynesboro Area School Board:

      Waynesboro Borough: Anna K. Bostwick-Foley, Republican.

      Washington Township: Megan E. Shea, cross-filed; K. Marilyn Smith, cross-filed.

      North End: Lawrence Glenn, cross-filed; Todd A. Rock, cross-filed.

    District justice

    • District 4 (Greene and Southampton townships, Orrstown and Shippensburg): Larry K. Meminger, cross-filed.
    The Herald-Mail Articles