Local roundup - Rams use drama to retain WVC tennis title

April 21, 2003

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - When something works, don't fix it, no matter how painful it might be.

That seems to be Shepherd College's philosophy when it comes to the West Virginia Intercolligiate Athletic Conference men's tennis tournament.

For the second straight season, the Rams came from behind to win the league tournament title on Saturday.

The Shepherd College men's tennis team had to come from behind again to win their second straight West Virginia Conference Championship.

Shepherd wins an automatic bid to play in next month's Great Lakes Regional.

Shepherd won four titles - two singles and two doubles - to pave the way defending their title, but it still came down to the last match of the day to decide the championship.

"We had to quit saying to ourselves, 'This should be a lot easier,' just because we were fairly dominant in our conference all season," Shepherd coach Chris Stambaugh said. "The postseason is where the best tennis players will come through. Our guys played amazing tennis to pull this one off."


Shepherd's No. 3 doubles team of Greg Selby and Wray Sherman outlasted Scott Green and Steve Wahl of West Virginia Wesleyan 6-1, 6-4. The championship gave Selby, a senior, his fifth individual conference title.

Also earning individual titles for the Rams were freshman David Seifarth at No. 5 singles and the No. 2 doubles team of Brian Clarke and Tim Halter. Halter also won the No. 4 singles title for Shepherd.

"Tim played at an extremely high level for most of the tournament," Stambaugh said. "... Ninety percent of the time he completely outclassed his competition.""

Brian Clarke, a Hedgesville native, managed to reach the semifinals at No. 1 singles and win No. 2 doubles despite playing with a broken hand.

Shepherd caught West Liberty and tied Wesleyan for the title, but won by virtue of defeating the Bobcats in head-to-head competition earlier this season.

Shepherd was 20-2 in the regular season and 20-2 10-0 in the WVIAC. It was Shepherd's fifth title in the 33-year history of the program.


Stuhler wins Shootout at Winchester

WINCHESTER, Va. - Gary Stuhler made his first visit of the season to Winchester Speedway a profitable one by claiming the late model flag Saturaday in first leg of the Winchester/Hagerstown Shootout.

Ed Gageby in the four cylinders and Terry Station won the pure stock main to round out the show.

Pole sitter Davey Johnson and Bo Feathers traded the lead in the opening laps of the 40-lap feature while Stuhler followed closely in third place.

The top three continued to run together, until Stuhler overtook Johnson and Feathers for the lead on lap 17.

Tom Myers used lapped traffic on the 22nd lap to get into the mix Myers moved into second on the 28th lap and sparred with Stuhler for the rest of the race, although he never got the lead.

In the 12-lap four cylinder race, Gageby held off the challenge of Ashby Spiker and Billy Sonner to lead the entire race. for his first win of the season.

Gageby wasfollowed across the finishe line by Spiker, Robert Holmes, Sonner and Tim Hottle.

The pure stock nightcap was full of action with Station taking the lead on the second lap from his third starting position out of a restart after a crash and cruised to his second win of the year.

Matt Kerns, Tony Stoneberger, Joey Carter and Jack Alexander rounded out the top five finishers.


(25 LAPS)

1. Gary Stuhler, 2. Tom Myers, 3. D.J. Myers, 4. Bo Feathers, 5. Jeremy Miller, 6. Davey Johnson, 7. Jim Bernheisel, 8. Roy Deese, 9. Marvin Winters, 10. Rick Eckert

11. Scott Richwine, 12. Walter Crouch, 13. Andy Anderson, 14. Gerald Davis, 15. Mike Corbin, 16. Brad Omps, 17. Kirk Ryan Jr., 18. Frankie Plessinger, 19. Tommy Armel, 20. Brad Ritter

21. Roy Clower, 22. Jeff Friese, 23. Wes Bonebrake, 24 Jerry Fifield

DNS - Allen Brannon, Mike Hardy, Ronnie DeHaven Jr.,Herk Armel, J.T. Spence, Richard Gwizdale, Mike Warshour, Tom Turner, Richard Shutts, Richard Irwin, Doug Burkholder, Greg Elrod, Frank Smith.


Conococheague Junior League

Post 202 6, Moose 5 - Bo Price fired a complete game with nine strikeouts, added two hits and drove in the winning run for Post 202 on Saturday. Cullen Hemphill and Andrew Twigg added two hits each. Kellen Reaver and Travis Kelly each for Moose.

Maugansville Junior League

Carbaugh's Tree Service 5, Penn Ave. Meats 2: Adam Merrbaugh struck out 16 and threw a one-hitter on Saturday.

Spicher's 9, Hagerstown Kitchens 3 -Billy Campbell struck out eight while Ryan Harbaugh had three hits for Spicher's. Mike Twigg and Bobby Bechtel had two hits each in the win. John Proctor and Brandon Palmer had two hits for Hagerstown Kitchens.

South Mountain Little League

Post 10 5, Pete's Barber Shop 0 - Adam Chambers threw a one-hitter with 15 strikeouts and Kyle Grove had two hits for Post 10.

Conococheague Little League

Post 202 5, Taylor's Trucking 3 - Nate Lowery had three hits and Corey Golden added two to support the complete-game pitching of Kyle Lamont. Steve Shumaker and Zach Boyer had two hits each for Taylor's.

The Herald-Mail Articles