United Way nets $1.6 million

The money raised during the 2002 campaign was the third highest in the agency's history

The money raised during the 2002 campaign was the third highest in the agency's history

March 21, 2003|by ANDREA ROWLAND

United Way of Washington County had a successful year despite a fall fund-raising campaign that fell short of its goal due to the nation's struggling economy, agency officials said Thursday at the organization's annual meeting in Hagerstown.

The more than $1.6 million in 2002 campaign contributions still ranked the third highest in the local agency's history, United Way Board Treasurer Alfred E. Martin said.

"It was a record year," he said.

Of the $1.6 million, $933,227 will be allocated to United Way's 21 member agencies, $225,497 will go to specific local agencies as designated by donors, $195,200 will be used to cover administrative and fund-raising costs, $48,800 will cover the costs of such programs as the Day of Caring, and $123,086 will go to charities in other areas as designated by donors.


United Way officials estimate that about $97,000 worth of funds pledged will not be collected.

More money will go directly to charities because United Way Executive Director James Taylor has cut the organization's fund-raising and administrative costs, Martin said.

Those costs this year were cut by 1 percent - from $229,147 to $195,200, according to information from the agency.

United Way's administrative staff was down-sized, its number of board members cut by nearly half, its accountability techniques strengthened, and technological improvements made, in an effort to be more efficient and effective, Taylor said.

Ending his six-year tenure on the agency's Board of Directors, Board President Robert Barnhart said he felt confident that he was leaving a "fiscally strong" organization.

Board members are limited to two, three-year terms. United Way veterans Jim Pierne and Terry Trovinger also were replaced Thursday. The board's officers and three new members - including Pamela J. Mills, Richard L. Reichenbaugh and Michael S. Zampelli - were elected.

Officers include:

  • Gary L. Wright, president.

  • Spence W. Perry, vice president - administration.

  • Christina L. Sandeen, vice president - agency relations.

  • Reichenbaugh, vice president - resource development.

  • Alfred E. Martin, treasurer.

  • Howard S. Kaylor, secretary.

Reichenbaugh, vice president and principal of Associated Engineering Sciences Inc., is the 2003 campaign chairman.

The Herald-Mail Articles