Lions win five crowns, region title

March 03, 2003|by ANDREW MASON

UNION BRIDGE, Md. - Walkersville had something to prove Saturday at the Maryland Class 2A-1A West Region Wrestling Tournament at Francis Scott Key High School.

"I told the boys this week that we're going to prove to be the top team in the region," said Lions coach Bryan Biehl. "We came back and proved that."

Walkersville asserted itself in the finals, where it sent six wrestlers and emerged with five titles. Championship performances from Chad Cotterman (125 pounds), Ed Asbill (130), Dan Caywood (140), Brad Nielson (160) and Jason Stambaugh (275) lifted the Lions to the team title with 174.5 points.


Beall, which handed Walkersville its only setback of the season in the finals of regional dual championships, finished second in the 18-team field with 166.5.

"We bounced back and kept going. And we'll keep going," said Biehl. "You can't keep a good team down."

Defending champ Williamsport, which finished third with 106.5, was perfect in the finals, going 4-0 in its title bouts.

Mike McGill, last year's region champ at 103, set the stage with a 9-2 win over Beall's Nathan Jackson for the 112 crown.

"It's getting close to the end of the year, and you want to wrestle as mistake-free as possible," said McGill, who outscored his three opponents 36-3 Saturday. "The guys I wrestled today I'd never wrestled before, so I didn't underestimate anybody."

Wildcats Brian Forsythe (119), Corey Leggett (135) and Devin Hewitt (145) all followed McGill's lead. Forsythe and Hewitt both won by fall, while Leggett won by decision in the finals.

The area's other champ was South Hagerstown's Clayton Swisher, who pinned Middletown's Dan McCallion in the second period of the 215 final.

The most thrilled competitors, however, may have been the ones who won in the consolation semifinals earlier in the day. That's where the final cut was decided for next weekend's state championships at McDaniel College, as only the top four advance from each region.

"It was either all or nothing right there," said Smithsburg senior Adam Roane, who took third at 130 - probably the tourney's toughest weight class. "I've qualified for regions four times and this is the first time I've ever made it to states."

Roane clinched his berth by pinning South Hagerstown's Stephen Copeland in 4:51 in the consy semis, and then nailed down the bronze with a 27-second decking of Northern Garrett's Mitchell Guard. Guard was a 4-2 winner over Washington County champ Ryan Bowers of Williamsport in the other consy semi.

"It was the hardest weight class here by far," said Roane. "You have me, Copeland and Bowers all ranked in the state, and two of those guys aren't going."

Asbill topped the 130 field with what had to be an extremely satisfying 11-4 win over Beall's Chris Lewis, who handed Asbill his only loss of the season in a pivotal matchup at the regional duals.

Caywood, ranked second in the state at 140, then got maybe an even sweeter taste of redemption, stunning top-ranked Lee Crowl of FSK with a 21-3 tech fall.

Caywood, who lost 11-6 to Crowl earlier in the season, credited his title to mental preparation.

"I didn't really get any stronger or get any quicker," he said. "It's all mental. That's the difference between a champion and an average wrestler."

Notes: Boonsboro freshman Brett Nalley, who finished fifth at 103, was the only No. 1 seed not to advance to states. ... Catoctin's Derek Fogle, the top seed at 189, fell 5-4 in the finals to Beall's Zach Sloane for his first loss of the season. ... North Hagerstown's Mike Wagner, who won at 112 last year, was the runner-up at 125 and the only Hub to advance.

Maryland Class 2A-1A West Region Wrestling Tournament

Saturday at FSK

Team results: 1. Walkersville 174.5; 2. Beall 166.5; 3. Williamsport 106.5; 4. Southern Garrett 106; 5. Northern Garrett 105; 6. Francis Scott Key 92.5; 7. South Hagerstown 66; 8. Brunswick 56; 9. Fort Hill 54; 10. (tie) North Hagerstown, Smithsburg 41; 12. Middletown 37; 13. Catoctin 34.5; 14. Century 29; 15. Winters Mill 11; 16. Boonsboro 8; 17. Westmar 4; 18. Allegany 0.

Individual results (top four advance to states)

Championship finals

103 - Casey Kamp (NG) d. Brett Walker (Bea) 8-6 OT; 112 - Mike McGill (Wil) d. Nathan Jackson (Bea) 9-2; 119 - Brian Forsythe (Wil) p. Travis Dixon (Bea) 5:23; 125 - Chad Cotterman (Wlk) d. Mike Wagner (NH) 5-5 (rideout); 130 - Ed Asbill (Wlk) d. Chris Lewis (Bea) 11-4; 135 - Corey Leggett (Wil) d. Zac McLain (Wlk) 3-0; 140 - Dan Caywood (Wlk) t.f. Lee Crowl (FSK) 21-3; 145 -Devin Hewitt (Wil) p. Mike Leveille (Bru) 1:12; 152 - Darric Kamp (NG) p. Gage Rindt (FSK) 5:12; 160 - Brad Nielson (Wlk) d. Jordon Brenneman (NG) 8-6, OT; 171 - Geoff Tressler (SG) m.d. Austin Williams (FH) 13-3; 189 - Zach Sloane (Bea) d. Derek Fogle (Cat) 5-4; 215 - Clayton Swisher (SH) p. Dan McCallion (Mid) 3:03; 275 - Jason Stambaugh (Wlk) d. Andrew Presnell (Mid) 2-1.

Consolation finals (third-place bouts)

103 - Gleason Sweeney (Wlk) p. Sean Forney (FSK) :57; 112 - Matt Ford (SG) m.d. Chris Taber (Cen) 17-4; 119 - Lance Diken (FH) p. Adam Hockensmith (SH), 3:50; 125 - Terry Jones (SH) m.d. Jeff Brant (Bea) 15-5; 130 - Adam Roane (Sm) p. Mitchell Guard (NG) :27; 135 - Josh Kelleman (FSK) d. Dan Ganoe (NG) 3-0; 140 - Joe Fox (Sm) disq. Scott Wildeson (SG); 145 - Chris Hayhurst (SG) d. Michael Wolf (NG) 2-1; 152 - Jason Weeks (SG) d. Emens Rho (SH) 4-2; 160 - Chad Stocks (Bru) d. Zach Ausherman (Cat) 6-4; 171 - Cody Miller (Bea) p. Chuck Crocken (WM) :47; 189 - Chris Bennett (SG) d. Billy Burke (Wlk) 10-9; 215 - Ty Wiland (Bea) d. Tom Rush (FSK), 7-6; 275 - Mack Carson (Brun) p. Ralph Stambaugh (FSK) :35.

The Herald-Mail Articles