Seven vying for Town Council seats

February 25, 2003|by ANDREW SCHOTZ

WILLIAMSPORT, MD - Four challengers are trying to unseat three Town Council members on March 3 in an election that the candidates say is largely free of issues.

The top three vote-getters among the seven candidates will win.

The incumbents are Timothy B. Ammons, Gloria J. Bitner and James C. Kalbfleisch. The challengers are James T. Jewell, Monty R. Jones, Earle R. Pereschuk Sr. and S. Regina Yohe.

Ammons, Bitner and Kalbfleisch are running on the Independent Progressive Party ticket.

The four challengers are running as independents.

The Citizen Party did not field any candidates.

The terms are four years.

Town Clerk Bonnie J. Errico said council members were paid $2,500 apiece last year and she doesn't know if that will change.


Polls will be open March 3 at Town Hall from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The Herald-Mail Articles