Taylor appointed to Health Care Commission

February 17, 2003|by LAURA ERNDE

Former House Speaker Casper R. Taylor Jr. was named Friday to the Maryland Health Care Commission.

Taylor's name was one of 235 that Republican Gov. Robert L. Ehrlich Jr. submitted to the state Senate during the historic "Green Bag" appointment process.

The governor traditionally delivers most of his annual appointments to the Maryland Senate using a handcrafted green leather pouch embossed with the state seal.

Members of the Health Care Commission, created in 1999, are not paid. Their purpose is to "establish a streamlined health care regulatory system in this state in a manner such that a single state health policy can be better articulated, coordinated and implemented."


Taylor, a Democrat, lost his November re-election bid to Clear Spring Republican LeRoy E. Myers Jr.

Washington County appointees include:

  • Glenn Dale Fischack Sr. to the state Amusement Ride Safety Board.

  • William M. Rohrer to the state Board of Boiler Rules.

  • Robert J. Verdeyen to the Correctional Standards Commission.

  • Ralph E. Wachter to the State Board of Elections.

  • Patricia K. Cushwa to the Hagerstown Community College Board of Trustees.

  • Washington County Sheriff Charles F. Mades to the state Police Training Commission.

  • Charles I. Mobley Jr., John Franklin Barr and Dorothy M. Waters to the Washington County Board of Elections.

  • Robert L. Everhart to the Washington County Board of License Commissioners.

The Senate must confirm all nominees.

The Herald-Mail Articles