Advertisement

Maryland Symphony Orchestra 22nd Season

Season includes 20th century composers, women artists, Mozart and more

Season includes 20th century composers, women artists, Mozart and more

February 06, 2003

Salute to Independence


Saturday, July 5

7:30 p.m.




MSO Pops!, featuring Dukes of Dixieland


Saturday, Sept. 20

8 p.m.




MasterWorks I


American Impressions, featuring soprano Linda Hohenfeld. Program includes Barber's "Knoxville: Summer 1915," Ives' "Three Places in New England" and Dvorak's "New World Symphony"

Saturday, Oct. 18, and Sunday, Oct. 19

8 p.m. Saturday, 3 p.m. Sunday




MasterWorks II


Women's Voices, featuring principal flute Frances Lapp Averitt. Program includes the Pulitzer Prize-winning Concerto for Flute by Melinda Wagner, "Circuits" by Cindi McTee and "Scheherazade" by Rimsky Korsakov

Advertisement

Saturday, Nov. 15, and Sunday, Nov. 16

8 p.m. Saturday, 3 p.m. Sunday




16th annual Holiday Pops! Concert, "Singing in the Holidays"


Saturday, Dec. 13, and Sunday, Dec. 14

8 p.m. Saturday, 3 p.m. Sunday




MasterWorks III


All Mozart, featuring pianist Noel Lester. Program includes Posthorn Serenade, K.320, Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K.550, and Concerto No. 24 in C minor for Piano, K.491

Saturday, Jan. 24, and Sunday, Jan. 25

8 p.m. Saturday, 3 p.m. Sunday




MasterWorks IV


Pastoral Scenes, featuring Ludwig van Beethoven's "Pastoral" Symphony No. 6, George Frideric Handel's "Il Pastor Fido" and Claude Debussy's "Afternoon of a Faun"

Saturday, Feb. 21, and Sunday, Feb. 22, 2004

8 p.m. Saturday, 3 p.m. Sunday




4th annual Family Concert, "Stories in Music"


Saturday, March 6, 2004

3 p.m.




MasterWorks V


Music of the Canvas/Art by Music, featuring violinist Nicholas Kendall. Program includes Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto, Respighi's "Trittico Botticelliano" and Mussorgsky's "Pictures at an Exhibition"

Saturday, March 20, and Sunday, March 21, 2004

8 p.m. Saturday, 3 p.m. Sunday




All MSO performances are at The Maryland Theatre, 21 S. Potomac St., Hagerstown, except the Salute to Independence, which is at Antietam National Battlefield in Sharpsburg.

Prelude, a pre-concert discussion with Music Director Elizabeth Schulze and guest soloists, begins one hour prior to MasterWorks series performances.




Tickets


Salute to Independence is free.

The Holiday Pops! and Family Concert performances are $9 for children, $16 for adults.

MSO Pops! and MasterWorks concerts cost $14 to $58 for single tickets, $67 to $278 for a subscription. Subscription rates for MasterWorks concerts alone cost $56 to $232. Discounts are available.

For tickets or information, visit the Maryland Symphony Box Office, 13 S. Potomac St., Hagerstown; call 301-797-4000; or go to www.marylandsymphony.org on the Web.

The Herald-Mail Articles
|
|
|