Greencastle councilman announces resignation

February 05, 2003|by RICHARD BELISLE

GREENCASTLE, Pa. - Richard Walck, a member of the Greencastle Borough Council for the last seven years, announced he is moving to Antrim Township and will resign his council seat effective Feb. 28.

Council members must live in the borough.

Walck said he's seen considerable growth in the borough since he's served on the council.

"We're still growing," Walck said. "There's still some property left, but it is running out."

He said the challenge facing the council in the next few years will be to hold the line on taxes while trying to maintain the quality of life that the community enjoys.

"Serving on the council has been a rewarding and challenging experience," Walck said. "You have to keep up with what's going on. My fellow council members have been good to work with."


Walck grew up in Marion, Pa., and moved to Greencastle in 1956. He served on the Greencastle-Antrim Board of Education in the 1970s.

Councilwoman Sydnae Vanner said she recruited Walck for the council.

"He has an excellent engineering background and he has been exceedingly helpful over the years," Vanner said. "He's a good guy and a good friend. I'm disappointed that he's leaving."

Councilman Harold Duffey, a 10-year council veteran, also praised Walck's efforts for the borough.

"He always thinks things through," Duffey said. "He's interested in things like infrastructure and he's active in the community. He'll be missed."

Borough Solicitor J. Dennis Guyer told council members this week that they have until March 30 to appoint a successor for Walck. If they fail to act by then, the appointment goes to the borough's vacancy board, which at present doesn't exist.

The council meets on the first Monday of the month. If it doesn't appoint a successor at its March 3 meeting, it will have to schedule a special meeting during the month to do so or miss the deadline.

Walck is a Democrat, but party affiliation will not be considered in finding a successor.

The council has seven members, including Council President Barbara Bock, Donald Coldsmith, W. Jean Oliver, Charles Eckstine, Duffey, Vanner and Walck.

The Herald-Mail Articles