Mackrell hooks cheer, reels in title

December 30, 2002|by ANDREW MASON

SMITHSBURG - All holiday shows need a feel-good ending.

So it only seemed appropriate when Smithsburg senior Justin Mackrell - who just cracked the Leopards' varsity wrestling lineup for the first time earlier this week - won the 275-pound crown in the day's final bout at the 14th annual Leopard Holiday Invitational on Saturday.

"Everybody knows me because I've been wrestling forever," said Mackrell, who brought the Smithsburg gymnasium to its feet when he pinned Brunswick's Mack Carson early in the third period of the final. "To go out and win the home tournament, this just feels great."

"It's awesome," said Leopards coach Joe Dietrich. "He probably won't sleep tonight."

Dietrich had other reasons to feel good. Smithsburg, which also got individual titles from Adam Roane at 135 and Joe Fox at 140, took second in the nine-team field for its best holiday finish since taking second in 1998.


Rising Sun, which captured six individual titles Saturday, defended its team crown with 215.5 points, 20 more than the runner-up Leopards. Rounding out the top five were Springbrook (171.5), Catoctin (166.5) and Brunswick (128).

"We pulled together and had some really good matches," said Dietrich. "It was pretty exciting."

In the 135 matchup - featuring two defending champs - Roane, who won at 130 last year, overcame deficits of 2-0 and 4-2 to capture a 7-4 decision over Rising Sun's Greg Benham, last year's 119 champ.

"I reversed him and threw the leg in," said Roane of his decisive five-point move in the second period. "He was tough. I couldn't break him down like a lot of the wrestlers around here."

Fox followed at 140 with one of the day's shortest matches, using his signature headlock to pin Rising Sun's Mark Haught in 41 seconds for his first-ever tourney title.

"I just had one move on my mind and that was a headlock," said Fox. "I knew if I got it in, the match would be over."

Catoctin's Derek Fogle also wasted little time, taking just over four total minutes to tear all the way through the 189 bracket.

"I just go out there, and if the opportunity presents itself, I capitalize," said Fogle, who was voted the tourney's Most Outstanding Wrestler. "If necessary, I'll wrestle the entire six minutes."

Yet, that hasn't been too necessary this season. Fogle is 11-0 with nine pins and two forfeits.

The area's other champion Saturday was Brunswick's Mike Levielle, who scored a 13-3 major decision over Smithsburg's Jeff Sprecher in the 145 final.

14th annual Leopard Holiday Invitational

Saturday at Smithsburg High School

Team results - 1. Rising Sun 215.5; 2. Smithsburg 195.5; 3. Springbrook 171.5; 4. Catoctin 166.5; 5. Brunswick 128; 6. Albert Einstein 86.5; 7. Northeast 76; 8. Westmar 41; 9. Milford Mill 37.

Championship Finals

103 - Bryan Meuer (RS) d. Mike Willis (C) 13-8; 112 - Geoffrey Clark-Ames (N) d. Justin Moore (Sp) 7-4; 119 - Justin Olin (RS) t.f. Ben Marconi (Sp) 15-0; 125 - Zach Dawson (RS) p. Hunter Harris (C) :35; 130 - Joe Klass (Sp) m.d. Pete Krummel (RS) 16-4; 135 - Adam Roane (Sm) d. Greg Benham (RS) 7-4; 140 - Joe Fox (Sm) p. Mark Haught (RS) :41; 145 - Mike Levielle (B) m.d. Jeff Sprecher (Sm) 13-3; 152 - Ryan Street (RS) d. Ed Encarnacion (Sp) 5-3; 160 - Mike Hileman (RS) d. Zack Ausherman (C) 10-7; 171 - Erik Williams (RS) p. Nate Hayes (Sm) 1:47; 189 - Derek Fogle (C) p. Ishmael Bosquez (AE) 3:53; 215 - Joe Fold (N) d. Mike Rinebolt (Sm) 6-2; 275 - Justin Mackrell (Sm) p. Mack Carson (B) 4:40.

Consolation Finals (for third place)

103 - Justin Alvord (Sp) p. Dovan Asafaw (AE) 2:00; 112 - Sean Overzat (C) p. Chris De Jesus (Sm) 2:06; 119 - Terry Batholomew (B) p. Andy Kokoski (C) 1:33; 125 - Adam Stark (Sp) forfeit; 130 - Derik Quillen (Sm) p. John Hawkins (B) 5:52; 135 - Teddy Williams (Sp) d. Trey Coates (B) 6-4; 140 - Jose Hernadez (AE) d. Andrew Reed (Sp) 12-6; 145 - Mike Thomas (AE) dq. Eric Beeman (W); 152 - John Butler (AE) d. Quinton Richards (MM) 7-5; 160 - Chad Stocks (B) d. Kevin Lehnert (N) 10-7; 171 - Andy Kirmen (C) d. Pat Curry (B) 6-1; 189 - Scott White (Sm) p. John Yormi (Sp) 2:25; 215 - Adam Venables (C) p. Eric Mackie (RS) 1:32; 275 - Ken Smith (AE) p. Djamal Kirby (Sp) :45.

The Herald-Mail Articles