Four Hood College professors receive honors

December 30, 2002

FREDERICK, Md. - Four faculty members were honored for their accomplishments during Hood College's recent holiday dinner.

-- Kimberly Lanegran, assistant professor of political science, was awarded the Martha E. Church Endowment Prize for Leadership and Service.

The award is named in honor of Martha E. Church, who served as president of Hood College from 1975 to 1995.

The Martha E. Church Center for Leadership and Service established an endowed fund through a gift from F&M Bank of Frederick in 1997. The fund is used to encourage new ideas for partnerships between Hood College and the Frederick community, and income from the endowment is used to award the annual prize and provide funds to implement partnership ideas.

-- Betty Mayfield, professor of mathematics and chair of the department of mathematics and computer science, received the Dr. Henry P. and Page Laughlin Faculty Professional Achievement Award.


The award is named for Dr. Henry P. Laughlin, an honorary member of the Hood College Board of Associates, and Page Laughlin, a local artisan. It is given to a faculty member who has made significant contributions to his or her profession through scholarship, exceptional service and distinguished teaching to Hood.

-- Hoda Zaki, professor of political science and chair of the department of history and political science, was awarded the Mortar Board Excellence in Teaching Award.

The award is presented by the Hood Keystone Chapter of Mortar Board, a national honor society, and recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates excellence.

-- Anne Derbes, professor of art and co-chair of the department of art, received the Adviser of the Year Award presented by Hood's Student Government Association.

The Herald-Mail Articles