Commissioners get assignments

December 05, 2002|by TARA REILLY

WASHINGTON COUNTY - In the first action as a new board, the Washington County Commissioners on Tuesday unanimously re-elected Gregory I. Snook as board president.

The commissioners elected William J. Wivell as vice president.

Snook has been a commissioner since 1990 and served as president since 1994. Wivell is beginning his second term as a commissioner.

The commissioners were also appointed to several boards and commissions on Tuesday.

Snook will serve on the Disabilities Advisory Committee Transportation Advisory Committee, the Emergency Services Council Tri-County Council, the MACO Legislative Committee United Way - Emergency Food and Shelter Program, the Museum of Fine Arts Weed Control Committee and the Western Maryland Consortium.


Wivell was appointed to the Economic Development Commission, MACO Legislative Committee, PenMar Development Corporation, Social Services Board and the Water and Sewer Advisory Commission.

Commissioner James F. Kercheval will serve on the Economic Development Commission, the Public Golf Corporation Board, Mental Health Authority, Mental Health Advisory Committee, Metropolitan Planning Organization and the Washington County Planning Commission.

Commissioner John C. Munson will serve on the Agricultural Education Center Board of Directors, Agricultural Land Preservation Advisory Board, Fire and Rescue Communications Advisory Board, Advisory Commission to the Board of Health, Housing Authority, Metropolitan Planning Organization and the Solid Waste Advisory Committee.

Commissioner Doris J. Nipps was appointed to the Airport Advisory Commission, Area Agency on Aging, Historical Advisory Committee, Historic District Commission, Washington County Community Partnership, Recreation and Parks Board and the Commission for Women.

The Herald-Mail Articles