Incumbents keep seats in town's election

November 20, 2002|by MARLO BARNHART

SHARPSBURG - All three incumbent members of the Sharpsburg Town Council held onto their seats Tuesday night after the 168 ballots cast in the town election were counted, Town Clerk Anna Louise Jamison said.

  • Patti Hammond, 55, of 301 W. Antietam St., won her second term with 89 votes. She is an associate librarian at Western Maryland Public Libraries. Her husband, Ralph Hammond, also is a council member.

  • Marjorie Jamison, 57, of 211 W. Main St., tallied 117 votes Tuesday night. Jamison was appointed to the council in August 2001 to replace Denise Troxell, who resigned her post.

    Marjorie Jamison is a retired teacher and is a substitute librarian for the Washington County Free Library's branch libraries.

  • Russell Weaver, 57, of 234 W. Main St., was the top votegetter with 126 votes, earning him a fifth term on the council. He is a sales executive with IBM Corp.

    Vice Mayor and Town Councilman Hal Spielman, who ran unopposed for vice mayor, collected 148 votes, Jamison said.


The two newcomers were:

  • Paul Breitenbach, 56, of 138 W. Main St., who received 68 votes. Breitenbach is co-owner of the Jacob Rohrbach Inn in town.

  • Jennifer Silbert, 42, of 215 E. Main St. Silbert, a freelance writer, earned 79 votes, Jamison said.

  • Just over 48 percent of Sharpsburg's 347 registered voters turned out Tuesday to vote at Town Hall, Jamison said.

    Spielman became vice mayor in January 2001, filling a vacancy left when then Vice Mayor Sid Gale took over as mayor after George Kesler resigned the post.

    Spielman was re-elected to a second four-year term on the council in 2000, but was up for re-election so soon because he assumed the vice mayoral post. That term expires this year.

    Spielman, 53, of 114 E. Main St., is an agriculture teacher at Smithsburg High School.

    Council members earn $30 a year, Town Treasurer Tom McCall said. They earn an additional $1 for each special meeting they attend.

    The polls at Town Hall were open from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

    The Herald-Mail Articles