Quality, not quantity, for Pa. voters

November 05, 2002|by STACEY DANZUSO

Franklin County officials expect about half of all registered voters to turn out for today's general election, which has three key races on local ballots.

Not only will voters choose a new governor, residents have to pick the next congressman to represent local interests in Washington, D.C., and a state representative.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.

In one closely watched local race, 20-year incumbent Jeff Coy, D-89th District, faces Republican challenger Chris Sheffield, an attorney from Shippensburg, Pa.


The 89th District includes the boroughs of Chambersburg, Orrstown and Shippensburg, and the townships of Greene, Letterkenny, Lurgan, Southampton and parts of Guilford in Franklin County. The district also includes part of Cumberland County.

State Rep. Patrick Fleagle, R-90th District, is unopposed in his bid for an eight term representing southern Franklin County.

Rep. Allan Egolf, R-86th District, is also running unopposed.

Egolf has represented northwestern Franklin County and parts of Cumberland and Perry counties for 10 years.

Republican Bill Shuster is also seeking his first full term serving the the 9th Congressional District, which includes all or part of 14 counties, including Franklin and Fulton. Shuster was elected in a special election in May 2001 following his father's retirement.

Democrat John Henry, of Breezewood, Pa., is challenging

In a tight race for governor, voters must choose between Republican Mike Fisher and Democrat Ed Rendell.

County officials expect voter turnout to be on par with the last mid-term election in 1998, when 47 percent of registered voters went to the polls.

The Franklin County Voter Registration Office has sent out 921 absentee ballots.

There are 72,943 registered voters in Franklin County, including 42,374 Republicans, 22,280 Democrats and 8,289 registered Independents, according to the Voter Registration Office.

Residents of Lurgan Township and Chambersburg 3-2 precinct face changes in their polling places.

The Chambersburg precinct has temporarily moved from the housing community center to First United Methodist Church, 225 S. Second St., said Jean Byers, chief deputy clerk.

The Lurgan Township polling site at Lurgan Elementary School has moved to the Lurgan Township Supervisors Office, 8650 McClays Mill Road, Byers said. This is a permanent shift due to limited parking at the school, she said.

The Herald-Mail Articles