People 9/8

September 09, 2002

Citizens Bank of Southern Pennsylvania

WAYNESBORO, Pa. - Karen Oberholzer has been appointed business development representative for Citizens Bank of Southern Pennsylvania.

Oberholzer, of Greencastle, Pa., will be based at Citizens Bank's Waynesboro Center Square office.

The Women's Business Institute

FREDERICK, Md. - Diane Wirth has been appointed chief operating officer of The Women's Business Institute.

Wirth is president and owner of The Solution Works Inc. in Frederick.

The Women's Business Institute provides training, business counseling and technical assistance to any woman who owns or desires to own a business, including economically and socially disadvantaged women and women on welfare.

D.M. Bowman

D.M. Bowman Inc. has recognized the following employees for professional achievement:

  • Ken Seville of Mercersburg, Pa., a bulk driver, has reached 14 years with Bowman. Seville's total mileage to date is 1,117,236.

    Seville just competed in the 2002 Company Driving Competition, in which he won the Pre-Trip Award, the First Place Award in Division II and was the 2002 Grand Champion.

  • Samuel Matts of Berkeley Springs, W.Va., driver for the Williamsport Vans Division, has been driving for Bowman since 1999. He has accumulated 212,554 miles in his career.

  • Keith C. Johnston, driver for the Frederick Bulk Division, has been with Bowman since 1999. Johnston, of Seven Valleys, Pa., has accumulated 252,632 miles.

    Hagerstown/Washington County Convention and Visitors Bureau

    Elizabeth "Betsy" DeVore has joined the staff of the Hagerstown/Washington County Convention and Visitors Bureau as director of convention sales.

    DeVore, of Hagerstown, brings 18 years of experience in the hospitality industry to the position.

    ekm Inspirations

    Norine Dagliano of ekm Inspirations career management service has been certified by Lee Hecht Harrison to deliver the Milestones Career Transition Seminar.

    Lee Hecht Harrison, a global outplacement and career management firm, contracts with companies that are reorganizing and downsizing to provide career management services to affected employees.

    Longaberger Co.

    The Longaberger Co. recognized Tammi Rohrer of Boonsboro as a 2002 National Top Sales Award winner at its annual convention held in Columbus, Ohio.

    Rohrer received the award for Sales Achiever - $20,000-$34,999.

    In addition:

    • Jennifer Stevens of Frederick, Md., recently joined the company as an independent sales associate.

    • Lynda Carter of Waynesboro, Pa., recently joined the company as an independent sales associate.

      Tastefully Simple

      Terry Perry of Hagerstown recently became a consultant for Tastefully Simple Inc., a national direct sales company based in Alexandria, Minn.

      Perry conducts in-home presentations of upscale, convenience-driven gourmet foods.

      Jack Gaughen Realtor ERA

      GREENCASTLE, Pa. - Curt Trumpower with Jack Gaughen Realtor ERA's Greencastle office was recently recognized for reaching the $2 million mark in closed sales since Jan. 1.

      Trumpower, of Greencastle, joined ERA in 1996.

      Shepherd College

      SHEPHERDSTOWN, W.Va. - Shepherdstown resident Sarah Payne Naylor has been appointed to the Shepherd College board of governors by Gov. Bob Wise. She will serve a four-year term on the 12-member governing board.

      Naylor is a partner in The Naylor Group, a consulting practice that deals with workplace diversity training and public policy advocacy training and planning for nonprofit organizations.

      W. Harley Miller Contractors

      MARTINSBURG, W.Va. - James W. Dailey II, president of W. Harley Miller Contractors Inc., Martinsburg, was elected 2002-03 president of the Contractors Association of West Virginia during this year's annual meeting at The Greenbrier.

      Dailey will preside over the state's largest full-service construction trade association serving the building, highway, utility and industrial contracting industry.

      Regional Correctional Academy

      The Hagerstown Regional Correctional Academy at Hagerstown Community College held a graduation ceremony Aug. 26 for the following students:

      Steven Scrugham (class leader), Susan Carder, Lyle Dixon, Justin Fisher, Keith Morgan, William Craig, Shayla Flanagan (squad leader), Henry Pepple, Mark Robertson, Thomas Shockey, Jason Moore, John Strine, Michael Turner, Rosalie Wilt and Ronald Younker.

  • The Herald-Mail Articles