Education briefs

September 06, 2002

Superintendent offers informal meeting for parents of students in Frederick County

FREDERICK, Md. - Frederick County Public Schools' Superintendent Jack Dale will meet with parents and guardians of students from the Walkersville area feeder schools Tuesday, Sept. 17, at 7 p.m. in the Walkersville High School media center.

Unlike superintendent roundtables held in previous years, which included a formal presentation, this year parents and guardians will have an opportunity to ask questions and talk informally with Dale.

Walkersville feeder area schools include Glade, New Midway/Woodsboro and Walkersville elementary schools, Walkersville Middle School and Walkersville High School.

Student winner announced in Earth Day Poster contest

Williamsport High School senior Stacey L. Cannon has been selected as a state winner in the 2002 Earth Day Poster contest sponsored through the Washington County Soil Conservation District.

The Maryland Association of Soil Conservation Districts Auxiliary judged the posters from across the state at its summer meeting in July.


Cannon's work was forwarded to the National Association of Conservation Districts to represent Maryland in competition at the national level. The judging will take place at the national meeting in February.

Workshop benefits bus drivers, transportation assistants

More than 250 bus drivers and transportation assistants attended a Washington County back-to-school workshop on Aug. 15.

Schools Superintendent Elizabeth Morgan and Chief Operating Officer William Blum welcomed the group.

The day's agenda included classes in student discipline, defensive driving and drug identification.

Director of Transportation Chris Carter and members of the Community Traffic Safety Council recognized 24 staff members for perfect attendance. They are:

Bus Assistant - Pamela Siler.

Drivers- Mary Barnes, Tansey Burkett, Terence Byard, George Coblentz, William Drager, Sharon Feigley, Glenn Hayes, Cheryl Joy, Beverly Lapole, Debora Spielman, Bobbi Tomlin and Carol White.

Crossing Guards - Karen Angle, June Benchoff, Paul Burkett, Carol Corbett, Sarah Mason and Janive Trolio.

Mechanics - Michael King and Thomas Lehman.

Specialists/Trainers - Sharon Rabochik, Charlene Robertson and Jeannette Thompson.

The Herald-Mail Articles