YMCA hands out annual community awards

July 12, 2002

WAYNESBORO, Pa. - The Waynesboro Area YMCA has announced the recipients of two annual awards.

This year's honorees are Charlie Barton, winner of the Building Strong Youth Award, and Ken Rhoe, winner of the Building Strong Communities Award.

Barton's contributions to the community have been in three areas - as a member of Christ United Methodist Church, in the Fellowship of Churches, and at the YMCA, where he serves on the Board of Directors.

Board President Joe Shull said Barton has been tireless in assuring that everyone knows about the YMCA's Partner with Youth Program.


"Charlie's main passion for the community is that no child be left out of the YMCA for lack of funds," Shull said.

Rhoe has been the driving force for a YMCA in Greencastle, Shull said. His leadership of the steering committee since 1993 has led to program development, a major gift and the hiring of a program director, according to Shull.

Rhoe has been a member of the Greencastle-Antrim School Board for 13 years, where he currently serves as vice president. He is past president of the Greencastle Rotary Club, chairs the stewardship committee at Trinity United Church of Christ and is past chairman of Boy Scout Troop 99.

Past recipients of the Strong Youth Award include Howard "Chic" Hutton, Jack Luty, Grayson Bowman, Irving Stoner, Ronald Wolff, Darryl Bowman, Lowell Wise, Sally Sillasy, Chris Snively, Ronald Grimes, Larry Price, Earl "Spanky" McCarney, Larry D. Corley, Judy Rose, Tom Balistrere, Walt Nutscke, Ken Brown, Dennis Gift, Tom West, Rob Holmes, Hector Gomez, Michael Christopher, George Tsoukatos, Gene Carpenter, Casey Campbell, Timothy Fisler, Jennifer McFarland and Sharrie Poper.

Previous winners of the Strong Communities Award are Tom Stanton, Charlie Barton, Ernest Gladhill, Eugene Manning and William Shank.

The Herald-Mail Articles