Advertisement

Silence of God

July 07, 2002|by KATE COLEMAN

"Silence of God," a Contemporary American Theater Festival commission, is the second of playwright Catherine Filloux's plays to premiere at the Shepherdstown, W.Va., festival.

The play is the story of Sarah Holtzman, who, inspired by her relationship with a poet who survived Khmer Rouge atrocities in Cambodia, becomes a journalist in order to answer the question of why evil flourishes in the world. She lands an interview with Khmer Rouge leader Pol Pot, but instead of answers, more questions are raised,

Filloux's connection to the Southeast Asian country began in the early 1990s when she was asked to write a screenplay based on 150 Cambodian women in California who suffered from psychosomatic blindness after witnessing the horrors of the Khmer Rouge.

She felt she just couldn't walk away. Filloux spent four months in Cambodia last year.

The Khmer Rouge tried to kill all the artists. There is no modern theater in the country of the "killing fields," she says.

Advertisement

Being able to make her living as a playwright is a great joy for Filloux. Her CATF commission and the opportunity to present her work - work that asks hard questions - is "unbelievable," she says.

The theater needs risk takers. "The theater can only survive with the kind of regeneration that's happening here."




All performances take place at Studio Theater

Wednesday, July 10 - 8:30 p.m. A pay-what-you-can preview.

Friday, July 12 - 8:30 p.m. Opening night

Saturday, July 13 - 2:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 14 - 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, July 18 - 2:30 and 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 20 - 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 21 - 2:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 24 - 2:30 and 8:30 p.m. The second show will be followed by a post-show discussion.

Friday, July 26 - 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 27 - 2:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 28 - 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, Aug. 1 - 2:30 and 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 3 - 8:30 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 4 - 2:30 p.m.

The Herald-Mail Articles
|
|
|