Advertisement

Thief river

July 07, 2002|by KATE COLEMAN

Playwright Lee Blessing is very pleased that his play "Thief River" is part of the Contemporary American Theater Festival's 2002 season. He's been aware of the festival for some time.

"I have a lot of confidence in Ed (Herendeen, CATF producing director) and the kinds of people he works with," Blessing says.

Theaters are conservative about doing new work, and money is at the heart of it. "Unambitious audiences want to be massaged emotionally," he says.

"Thief River" tells the story of the unrequited love between two men - from the 1950s to the 2000s - in a Minnesota farming community. Blessing says the play is ambitious and straightforward in its rural setting.

Advertisement

Herendeen calls the work, with a cast of characters at three stages of their lives, "poetic, compassionate."

Blessing has written 20 plays - about one a year, he says. His awards include The American Theatre Critics Award.




Performance schedule

All performances take place at Frank Center Stage

Thursday, July 11 - 8 p.m. A pay-what-you-can preview.

Saturday, July 13 - 8 p.m.

Sunday, July 14 - 2 p.m.

Wednesday, July 17 - 8 p.m. Followed by a post-show discussion.

Friday, July 19 - 8 p.m.

Saturday, July 20 - 2 p.m.

Sunday, July 21 - 7 p.m.

Thursday, July 25 - 8 p.m.

Saturday, July 27 - 8 p.m.

Sunday, July 28 - 2 p.m.

Wednesday, July 31 - 8 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 2 - 8 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 3 - 2 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 4 - 7 p.m.

The Herald-Mail Articles
|
|
|