Incumbents defeated in W.Va. town council races

June 05, 2002|by DAVE McMILLION

JEFFERSON COUNTY, W.Va. - Incumbent Shepherdstown Town Council members Ray Eshelman and Dawn Fye lost in their bids for re-election in Tuesday's town election, according to complete, unofficial results.

The top vote-getters for the five council seats were James Cooper, 128 votes; Howard Mills, 123 votes; Cindy Cook, 140 votes; Mark Smith, 145 votes and James Schmitt, 107 votes, according to returns.

Eshelman finished sixth with 106 votes. Fye, who is married to Mayor Jim Auxer, finished seventh with 88 votes and Sara Byrne, who had withdrawn from the council race, received 26 votes, according to results.


Schmitt served as town recorder before deciding to run for council.

Michael Rae, who was running unopposed for recorder, received 147 votes, according to returns.

Auxer, who was also running unopposed, received 126 votes, according to returns.

Cooper, Mills, Cook and Smith are newcomers to the council. Incumbent council members Charles Branson and Wayne Bjorlie decided not to seek re-election.

The canvassing of ballots is expected to be conducted in the next several days.

n In Ranson, W.Va., Ranson City Council member Charles Beahm lost to Donnie Magaha by 20 votes in Tuesday's municipal election, according to complete, unofficial results.

Magaha picked up 61 votes compared to Beahm's 41 votes in the race for the Ward I council seat, according to returns.

At-large council member Howard Shade easily defeated James P. Hayden by a vote count of 62 to 38, according to returns.

Council member Pete Breeden, who was running unopposed, received 82 votes and Recorder Tony Braithwaite, who was also running unopposed, received 84 votes, according to returns.

The canvassing of the ballots will be conducted June 10.

The Herald-Mail Articles