Ranson, Shepherdstown to hold town elections

June 03, 2002|by DAVE McMILLION

SHEPHERDSTOWN, W.Va. - After 26 years on the Shepherdstown Town Council, Charles Branson has decided it is time to step down.

Branson would have been up for re-election in Tuesday's town election, but he decided not to run again for health reasons.

"I will certainly miss it," Branson said Sunday.

The candidates for council in Tuesday's election include Ray Eshelman, Dawn Fye, Jim Schmitt, James Cooper, Mark Smith, Cindy Cook and Howard Mills. The top five vote-getters will get seats.


Sara Byrne was also running for council but withdrew from the race, election officials said. Byrne's name, however, will still appear on the ballot.

Michael Rae is running unopposed for recorder and Mayor Arthur Auxer, who is completing his first term, is running unopposed.

Voters in Ranson, W.Va., will also head to the polls Tuesday for a city election.

Incumbent Charles Beahm will face Donnie Magaha in a Ward I council race and incumbent Howard Shade will face James P. Hayden for an at-large council seat, said Charlie Slusher, a former town recorder who is helping organize the election.

Council member Pete Breeden is unopposed and City Recorder Tony Braithwaite is running unopposed, Slusher said.

Mayor David Hamill, and council members Duke Pierson and Kim Biddle are not up for election this year.

Polling in both elections is conducted at the town hall buildings in the respective towns and will be held from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

The Herald-Mail Articles