Henry, Lampard defend title, win third Dick Kelley tourney

May 28, 2002|BY DAN KAUFFMAN

It was only fitting that the two teams who have combined to win the Herald-Mail Dick Kelly Memorial golf tournament gross division title six of the last seven years wound up battling for it again.

Defending champions Greg Henry and Ken Lampard strung together four straight birdies on both the front and back nines en route to a 9-under-par 63 and held off Harry Kendig and Dick Roulette by one shot Friday at Black Rock Golf Course.

"We didn't birdie No. 1, which is one of the easiest holes on the course," Henry said of the par-five opening hole. "It's usually not a good start when you don't birdie No. 1, but we've been playing well together. ... We play a lot of two-man (tournaments) together and we have a good feel for each other."


They must have. Henry and Lampard have won this tournament three of the last four years, the only exception being in 2000, when Kendig and Roulette beat them out in the two-man best ball format. Kendig and Roulette also won in 1996 and 1997.

Henry and Lampard birdied holes three through six for a 32 on the front nine, then birdied 10 and 13 through 16 for a 31 on the back nine.

"I three-putted (No. 1) for a par, but we were consistent all day," Lampard said. "We both played really well."

Kendig and Roulette birdied the first three holes and went out in 31 - one of two teams to go out that fast - and added birdies on 10, 16 and 17 to enter the clubhouse with the lead at 8-under 64. It lasted five minutes, before Henry and Lampard posted their score out of the next group.

"We just knew we had to keep going," Kendig said. "We both hit the ball real solid and kept it in play. We didn't make anything real long, our longest birdie was 10 feet."

Kendig said the group missed three four-footers for birdie along the way.

"(The score) could have been (lower), but that's the way it goes in golf," he said.

Tony Racine and Mike Cunningham won the net division (in which a player's handicap is factored into score) with a 58. Bill Kushay and Finley Benjamin won the seniors division (50 and up) with a 63, while Wayne McWilliams and Fred Papa won the sponsor's division with a 63.

The Herald-Mail Articles