Uncontested pa. races


CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - Local candidates for the state legislature ran unopposed in Tuesday's primary election, leaving Franklin County residents with few options.

According to complete, but unofficial results:

- Democrat Jeff Coy received 1,881 votes with all precincts reporting.

Coy will try for an 11th term representing the 89th District that includes the boroughs of Chambersburg, Orrstown and Shippensburg, and the townships of Greene, Letterkenny, Lurgan Southampton and parts of Guilford in November. His district also includes part of Cumberland County.

Chris Sheffield will be the Republican candidate for the 89th District this fall. The Shippensburg attorney received 2,667 votes with all precincts reporting.

- In the 90th District, Republican Pat Fleagle secured 2,926 votes with all precincts reporting. He is also unopposed in the general election.


He is seeking his eighth term representing southern Franklin County, including the boroughs of Mercersburg, Greencastle and Waynesboro, and the townships of Warren, Antrim, Washington and portions of Peters, Quincy, Hamilton and Guilford.

- Republican Allan Egolf of the 86th District had 882 votes with all precincts reporting Tuesday. He has represented northwestern Franklin County and parts of Cumberland and Perry counties for 10 years. He is unopposed in his bid for a sixth term this fall.

- Republican Stephen Maitland of the 91st District had 50 votes with all precincts reporting. His district was redrawn this year to include parts of Guilford and Quincy townships in Franklin County, as well as much of Adams County.

The Herald-Mail Articles