Pa. voters face few decisions in primary


Franklin County, Pa., voters won't have many choices on primary ballots today.

Candidates running for the four Pennsylvania General Assembly seats that represent Franklin County are unopposed in today's state primary.

Republicans Allan Egolf, 86th District; Chris Sheffield, 89th District; Pat Fleagle, 90th District; and Stephen Maitland, 91st District, have no primary challengers.

Democrats Jeff Coy, 89th District; and Mark Berg, 91st District, are also unopposed on their side of the ballot. No Democratic candidates filed for the 86th and 90th districts.

Coy has represented the 89th District, which includes the boroughs of Chambersburg, Orrstown and Shippensburg, and the townships of Greene, Letterkenny, Lurgan, Southampton and parts of Guilford in Franklin County, for 20 years. His district also includes part of Cumberland County.


Fleagle is seeking his eighth term representing southern Franklin County, including the boroughs of Mercersburg, Greencastle and Waynesboro, and the townships of Warren, Antrim, Washington and portions of Peters, Quincy, Hamilton and Guilford.

Egolf has represented northwestern Franklin County for 10 years and is running for his sixth term. His district includes the townships of Fannett, Metal, St. Thomas, and some of Hamilton and Peters. He also represents parts of Cumberland and Perry counties.

Maitland currently represents the 91st District, which under the new redistricting plan includes parts of Guilford and Quincy townships in Franklin County, as well as much of Adams County.

The only race on the Republican primary ballot will be between U.S. Rep. Bill Shuster, Hollidaysburg, Pa., and Franklin County residents David Bahr and David Keller, for the 9th District seat in Congress. Democrats only have one choice: John Henry, of Breezewood, Pa.

Republican candidates for governor and lieutenant governor are unopposed, and include Mike Fisher, Allegheny County, and Jane M. Earll, Erie County, respectively.

Democrats, however, have a larger field of candidates seeking the state's top two offices.

The race for governor includes Democrats Ed Rendell, Philadelphia County, and Bob Casey Jr., Lackawanna County.

The field of Democratic candidates in the race for lieutenant governor includes: Ron Panza, Allegheny County; Allen G. Kukovich, Westmoreland County; Thaddeus Kirkland, Delaware County; Edward C. Truax, Dauphin County; Ron Williams, Wyoming County; Catherine Baker Knoll, Allegheny County; John A. Lawless, Montgomery County; J. David Woodard, Allegheny County; and Jack Wagner, Allegheny County.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Residents of Hamilton One polling precinct will once again vote at the National Guard Armory, 1010 Lincoln Way West, Chambersburg.

Voters were moved to the Hamilton Township Planning Commission office during last fall's election, but the National Guard has lifted its ban on the public using the armory, said Jean Byers, Franklin County chief deputy clerk.

Voters in Waynesboro's 3-3 polling precinct will shift from the Otterbein Ministry Center, 912 S. Potomac St., across the parking lot to the Otterbein Youth Center.

With so many uncontested races, officials predict a light turnout in today's primary election.

Four years ago, only 9 percent of registered voters cast a ballot in the primary, said Jennie Aines, chief registrar.

The general election is Nov. 5.

The Herald-Mail Articles