Myers takes back Smithsburg mayor's seat


Mildred "Mickey" Myers decisively defeated Mike Rohrer Tuesday to become Smithsburg's next mayor.

Myers - who received 269 votes to Rohrer's 57 - was mayor from 1994 to 1998, but lost the next election to Tommy Bowers.

Bowers decided not to run again this year.

Also Tuesday, Ralph J. Regan and James LaFemina won two open seats on the town council, with both surviving a write-in campaign on behalf of departing Councilman Charlie Slick.

Regan received 219 votes and LaFemina had 195.

Slick - who received 108 votes - announced in January that he wasn't running again after 14 years on the council. But when supporters declared last week that they would write him in, Slick said he would serve again if he won.


Clerk/Treasurer/Manager Betsy Martin said the new mayor and council members may be sworn in at the May 28 organizational meeting.

The annual salary is $2,000 for mayor and $1,000 for council members. Their terms are four years.

There were 325 ballots cast in person Tuesday and 11 absentee ballots, meaning nearly one-fourth of the town's 1,396 registered voters took part.

Ballot-counting was slowed by a power outage that darkened town hall and other parts of town.

Rohrer, who ran for mayor after serving one term on the town council, left shortly after the results were announced.

"You ran a good campaign," supporter Marjorie Lucassen told him.

"I'm very pleased," Myers said during a telephone interview from her home, where a celebration was under way. "I ran a positive campaign on my integrity and my honesty."

LaFemina also spent election night at home.

During a telephone interview, he said his 9-year-old son, Billy, told him he was confident he would win as they watched Dinotopia on TV together.

By then, LaFemina's wife, Paula, and 7-year-old daughter, Zoe, had already gone to sleep.

LaFemina said he hopes to "bring together parts of old town and the new town," which is where he lives.

Regan said he was a little bit excited and a little bit nervous after his win.

"Write-in campaigns are hard to coordinate, no matter who the candidate is," he said.

"I knew it was a long shot," Slick said.

Bowers received one write-in vote for mayor.

In the council race, Charles Lucassen and Joe Slick each received two write-in votes. Rodney Weicht and Homer Myers - the husband of the mayor-elect - received one write-in vote apiece.

The Herald-Mail Articles