Funkstown leaders retained

May 07, 2002|BY DAN KULIN /Staff Writer

Funkstown voters chose to keep their town elected leaders Monday, re-electing the mayor and two Town Council members, according to official vote totals announced by Town Clerk Brenda Haynes.

Councilmen Richard W. Nigh and Kim A. Ramer beat out two other opponents on the ballot to win another four years on the five-member council.

Mayor Robert L. Kline, who was running unopposed, received 99 votes.

A. Larry Iseminger received one vote for council and one vote for mayor as a write-in candidate.

Town elected officials serve staggered four-year terms. The other three council seats and the assistant mayor position will be on the ballot in 2004.


"I'd just like to thank the citizens of Funkstown for electing me back to office," said Nigh, who was at Town Hall to hear the results.

Nigh, 74, was the top vote-getter in the council election with 80 votes.

He is a retired correctional officer and has been on the council since 1990.

Before the election, Nigh said he planned to continue pushing for the proposed Funkstown Bypass, which is also being called Southern Boulevard. The road would connect Edgewood Drive to Oak Ridge Drive, and alleviate some of the traffic through town, he said.

Ramer, a council member since 1986, took the other council seat with 59 votes.

Ramer, 50, owns Ramer's Service Center, an automotive service center in Funkstown. He has said he would like to see planned repairs to the town lagoon completed.

Lorraine Smith, who was on the council from 1988-1992, and from 1993-2000, received 46 votes in her unsuccessful bid to return to council.

Smith, 56, had said she decided not to seek re-election in 2000 so she could run in the election this year. She said there needed to be a change on the council.

Richard L. Gaver received 41 votes in his second unsuccessful run for council.

Gaver, 41, is co-chair of the town's Olde Tyme Christmas event. He works as an electrical inspector for Washington County, and is a part-time sales floor associate at Lowe's. Gaver also ran for council in 2000.

Kline, 72, said he has been the only mayoral candidate on the town ballot since he was elected as a write-in candidate in 1982.

"I'm going to try and keep helping the people," said Kline, who was at Town Hall for the election results.

There were 122 ballots cast in the Monday election, Haynes said. There are 513 voters registered to vote in town elections.

Funkstown elected officials are not paid salaries, but $29.28 is subtracted from each elected official's quarterly water bill, Haynes said. That amount is the minimum quarterly water charge, she said.

The mayor also receives a $125 gas allowance every month, she said.

The four town elected officials whose terms end in two years are Assistant Mayor Paul Crampton Jr. and council members John Phillips III, Robert Rodgers Jr. and Sharon Chirgott.

The Herald-Mail Articles