Four run for Funkstown Council seats

April 23, 2002|BY DAN KULIN /Staff Writer

The four candidates for Funkstown Town Council say they have a desire to serve and work with the public.

On May 6, town voters will select two of the candidates to serve on the five-member council for the next four years.

Mayor Robert L. Kline will be on the May 6 ballot. Kline is the only candidate for mayor.

Town elected officials serve staggered four-year terms. The other three council seats and the assistant mayor position will be on the ballot in 2004.

The council candidates on the ballot will be Richard L. Gaver, former council member Lorraine Smith, and incumbent council members Richard W. Nigh and Kim A. Ramer.


"I just want to do a little bit more for the town," Gaver said. "I want to keep Funkstown the way it is."

Gaver, 41, is co-chair of the town's Olde Tyme Christmas event. He works as an electrical inspector for Washington County, and is a part-time sales floor associate at Lowe's.

Gaver ran for council in 2000, but wasn't elected.

Smith was on the council from 1988-1992, and from 1993-2000.

Smith, 56, said she decided not to seek re-election in 2000 so she could run in the election this year.

"We need to make a change on the council," Smith said. She refused to be more specific.

Smith said primarily she is running because "I like my town and I like to be a service to the community."

Smith works as a hairdresser. She also delivers The Morning Herald.

Nigh, a retired correctional officer, has been on the council since 1990.

Nigh, 74, said he decided to seek re-election because "I like to help the people around here." He also wants to "keep pushing for that bypass," he said.

There is too much traffic in downtown Funkstown, especially during the afternoon rush-hour, he said. The proposed Funkstown Bypass, which is being called Southern Boulevard, would connect Edgewood Drive to Oak Ridge Drive, and alleviate some of the traffic through town, Nigh said.

Ramer, a council member since 1986, said he had planned not to seek re-election, but "some folks asked me to."

"I enjoy working with the people in the community," Ramer said.

Ramer, 50, said he would like to see planned repairs to the town lagoon completed.

Ramer owns Ramer's Service Center, and automotive service center in Funkstown.

Kline, 72, said he has been the only mayoral candidate on the town ballot since he was elected as a write-in candidate in 1982.

"I'll try to keep the taxes down .... and I like to help people," Kline said.

Funkstown's 513 registered voters can cast ballots at Funkstown Town Hall, 30 E. Baltimore St., from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Monday, May 6, Town Clerk Brenda Haynes said.

Absentee ballots are available at Town Hall, but must be received no later than 7 p.m. election day, she said. For more information about absentee ballots call Haynes at 301-791-0948.

Funkstown elected officials are not paid salaries, but $29.28 is subtracted from each elected official's quarterly water bill, Haynes said. That amount is the minimum quarterly water charge, she said.

The mayor receives a $125 gas allowance every month, she said.

The four town elected officials whose terms end in two years are Assistant Mayor Paul Crampton Jr. and council members John Phillips III, Robert Rodgers Jr. and Sharon Shirgott.

The Herald-Mail Articles