South High team wins state contest

April 15, 2002|BY JULIE E. GREENE

A South Hagerstown High School team captured first place in a Destination ImagiNation state competition Saturday in Catonsville, Md., the Western Regional Tournament's director said.

South High's Team 2 was first in the senior division for "Art of Improv," Pam Newhouse said.

For the "Art of Improv" problem, students had to prepare research on two improvisational elements (six famous artworks and six explorers), practice improvisational techniques, explore the possible uses of a set list of items that may be used to create their presentation and determine their specialties as a team.

The South High team members are James Koebel, Aaron Michael, Eric Muritz, Elizabeth Thammasuvimol, Justin Warner, Maria L. Wood and Danni West. The team manager is David Gysberts.


Teams that finished in first or second place at the state competition at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, are eligible to compete in the Global Finals in May at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, Newhouse said.

The teams must raise funds to go to the Tennessee competition, she said.

Two regional teams placed second Saturday, Newhouse said.

The Frederick High School team was second in the senior division for "On Holiday," Newhouse said.

For the "On Holiday" problem, students were to select and learn about a nation other than their own and prepare a presentation which featured one or more traveling groups and their experiences during a visit to that nation.

Team members are Alex Brown, Keith Buzby, Alison Hait, Rohan Mahadevon, Josh Neeriemer, Erin Sincevich and Amy Wolfsheimer. The team managers are Diana Neeriemer and Carole Pecora.

The New Midway/Woodsboro Elementary team placed second in the elementary division for "Dual DI-lemma," Newhouse said.

For the "Dual DI-lemma problem, students had to design, build and test two structures - one pre-built prior to the tournament made out of balsa wood, paper and ad glue and the other built during the tournament made out of balsa wood and duct tape. There must be a contrast between the two structures.

Team members are Jared Auwarter, Kevin Britt, Tyler Britt, Colin Hartman, Nick Hobbs, Cody Stevens and Shaun Wood. The team manager is Teresa Britt.

Clear Spring Elementary placed third in the elementary division for "Dual DI-lemma," Newhouse said.

Team members are Matthew Blair, Taylor Goldzwig, Wendy Lucas, Megan Micco, Gavin Myers, Samuel Myers and Elliott Reid. The team manager is Patty Truax Blair.

Clear Spring Middle School placed third in the intermediate division for "Dual DI-lemma," Newhouse said.

Team members are Mackenzie Blair, Asya Brown, Kyle Byrne, Alisha French, Sarah Holler, Derek Reichard and Adam Reid. The team manager is Patty Truax Blair.

The St. Mary's School team finished third in the intermediate division for "It's Your Move," Newhouse said.

For "It's Your Move," students were to design and build a vehicle to serve as its game piece. The game piece then had to travel a randomly chosen course across a game board.

Team members are Jeffrey Cooper, Alexis Echevarria, Sean Fitzgerald, Alex Grove, Laura Harsh, Kathryn Jarvis and Brendan Kotlanger. The team managers are Jean Cooper and Linda Harsh.

Smithsburg High School's team placed fifth in the senior division for "StrandDid!" Newhouse said.

For the "StrandDid!" problem, students had to create a presentation in which team members are in a stranded situation and must work together to resolve the predicament.

Team members are Kathy Brady, Jason Cross, Bobby Jones, Mollie Meadows, Abe Nehemiah and Ellie Popper. The team manager is Richard Brady.

The Springfield Middle School team and Fluffy Bunnies Homeschoolers from Frederick County tied for fifth place in the intermediate division for "StrandDid!" Newhouse said.

Springfield team members are Lee Draper, Makenna Hardy, Lindsey Hayes, Collin Jackson, Steve Nunnally, McKinsey Souders and Sarah Tritsch. The team managers are Simon Drew and Kelli Nunnally.

Fluffy Bunnies team members are Aaron Freeman, Michael Marcoux, Rena Brault, David Brault and Stephen Gilles. The team manager is Janet Dudek Freeman.

Former Western Regional director Georgiana Keller was given the Lois Williams Award, Newhouse said. The plaque is given to the volunteer who gave the most to creative problem solving in Maryland.

A Frederick County student was given the Patricia Swanson Scholarship, Newhouse said.

The $1,000 scholarship was given to Katie Brown, a senior at Gov. Thomas Johnson High School in Frederick, Md. She has participated in creative problem solving for eight years.

The Western Region consists of Washington, Frederick, Carroll, Garrett and Allegany counties.

Staff writer Sarah Mullin contributed to this story.

The Herald-Mail Articles