Candidates file to run in Funkstown election

April 09, 2002|BY DAN KULIN /Staff Writer

FUNKSTOWN - Four candidates are vying for two seats on the Funkstown Town Council, and Mayor Robert L. Kline is running unopposed on the May 6 town ballot, Town Clerk Brenda Haynes said Monday.

Monday was the filing deadline for candidates for mayor and two of the five council positions. The assistant mayor position and the other three council seats will be on the ballot in two years. Candidates are elected to serve four-year terms.

This year's council candidates are current council members Kim Ramer and Richard Nigh, and former council member Lorraine Smith, and Richard Gaver, Haynes said.


Ramer has been on the council since 1986, and Nigh has been a councilman since 1990, she said.

Kline said he has been the only mayoral candidate on the town ballot since he was elected as a write-in candidate in 1982.

Ballots can be cast at Funkstown Town Hall at 30 E. Baltimore St. Funkstown, from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Monday, May 6.

Funkstown elected officials are not paid salaries, but they do get a reduction on their water bills, Haynes said.

Each elected official has $29.28 subtracted from his or her quarterly water bill. That amount is the minimum quarterly water charge, she said.

The four town elected officials whose terms end in two years are Assistant Mayor Paul Crampton Jr. and council members John Phillips III, Robert Rodgers Jr. and Sharon Shirgott.

The Herald-Mail Articles