Franklin uses luck, skill at Speedway for 114th victory

March 11, 2002

Rodney Franklin of White Post, Va., started fourth and charged into the lead by the 15th lap en route to his 114th career victory in the 30-lap late model feature at the Hagerstown Speedway Sunday.

"You have to have a little bit of luck every now and then," Franklin said. "D.J. (Myers) was fast there in the beginning and Bucky Tomblin was going pretty good until the 28 car (Marvin Winters) took him out. We were better at the end of the race then we were in the beginning. ut we were pleased and its nice to be lucky once in a while."

Brett Hearn of Sussex, N.J., came to Hagerstown to tune up for the Super DIRT Advance Auto Parts 100 on March 30 and left with confidence in his new car after leading every lap to win the 30-lap big block modified feature.

Franklin and Hearn both earned $21,000 for their efforts and a guaranteed starting spot in the Octoberfest 350.


In the late model feature, Myers jumped out in front from the pole as Tomblin and Winters fell in behind the leader. Winters tried to pass Tomblin on lap 11, but their cars made contact, spinning out Tomblin in the third turn. The incident put Tomblin out of the race and forced Winters to quit after being penalized to the back of the pack for the altercation.

Franklin was second on the restart. After another incident on lap 13, smoke came from Myers' car to end his run and turn the lead over to Franklin.

Franklin eased to the win followed by Devin Friese, Charlie Schaffer and Doug Burkholder, who started 12th.

Heat winners in the 39-car field were Winters, Andy Anderson, Franklin and Friese. Keith Barbara won the consolation.

Hearn started on the pole and was never threatened in the 30-lap big block modified feature. Hearn won by 10 car lengths over Tim McCreadie, J.R. Heffner, Billy Pauch and A.J. Romano.

Hearn, McCreadie, Bud Christman and Jamie Mills won the heats in the 43-car field. Kenny Brightbill and MeMe DeSantis won the consolations.

The Speedway hosts the Hoosier Tires Mid-Atlantic late model sportsman Sunday while the Ernie's Salvage Yard pure stocks join the ITSI late models in a triple-header program beginning at 1:30 p.m.


1. Rodney Franklin; 2. Devin Friese; 3. Charlie Schaffer; 4. Doug Burkholder; 5. Rick Workman; 6. Gary Stuhler; 7. John Flinner; 8. Frankie Plessinger; 9. Lou Braddich; 10. Andy Friese; 11. Keith Barbara; 12. Kenny Pettyjohn; 13. James Adkins; 14. Sean Cosgrove; 15. Vic Coffey; 16. Rodney Sweitzer; 17. Tim Wilson; 18. Doug Eck; 19. Kirk Ryan Jr.; 20. Drew Koteles; 21. Alan Sagi; 22. D.J. Myers; 23. Buck Tomblin; 24. Marvin Winters; 25. Wesley Bonebrake; 26. Paul Crowl.

DNS: Andy Anderson

DNQ: Mark Moats; Ty Myers; Bill Karp; Mike Benedum; Dave Reed; Jeff Smith; Terry Hough; Jason Covert; Nick Jones; Donnie Farlling Jr.; Paul Carnell; Butch Champion.

Race Leaders: Myers 1-14, Franklin 15-30



(43 Cars)

1. Brett Hearn; 2. Tim McCreadie; 3. J.R. Heffner; 4. Billy Pauch; 5. A.J. Romano; 6. Bud Christman; 7. Jamie Mills; 8. Todd Burley; 9. Shawm Reimert; 10. Danny Johnson; 11. Ken Tremont; 12. Craig VonDohren; 13. Rick Laubach; 14. Kenny Brightbill; 15. Craig Mullins; 16. Doug Rose; 17. Colin Jackson; 18. Brian Weaver; 19. Craig Mitchell; 20. Ray Swinehart; 21. MeMe DeSantis; 22. Vic Coffey; 23. Jeff Strunk; 24. Jared Schultz; 25. Ben Hatt; 26. Bill Decker.

DNQ: Del Rougeux; Bruce Kline; Ryan Watt; Kyle Strickler; Chad Marvel; Norm Short; Kevin Hirthler; Mark Frankhouse; Kenny Pettyjohn; Ritchie Pratt; Kevin Bolland; Tim Carey; Larry McVay; Pete Simpson; Rich Scagliotta; Dave Gerhart; Richard Brown.

Race Leaders: Hearn 1-30.

The Herald-Mail Articles