Stuhler wins career No. 199 at Speedway

March 05, 2002

Weather cleared enough to allow Gary Stuhler record his 99th career win in the 25-lap ITSI late model feature at the Hagerstown Speedway Sunday...

"Wesley (Bonebrake) and Devin (Friese) were going pretty good there," Stuhler said. "Wes had 55's on and I had to get him before he got going. We just tried to stay with them in the beginning and work our way between them."

It was Stuhler's first trip to Victory lane for new car owner Glen Ninninger.

In other action, after winning Rookie of the Year honors last year, Dave Rice Jr., of Greencastle, Pa., started off the season with his first career win in the 20-lap Hoosier Tire late model sportsman feature. Eugene Conlee, of Hanover, Md., outlasted the field scoring his first win of the season in the Ernie's Salvage Yard 15-lap pure stock feature.

Next Sunday, the big block modifieds return to join the late models in two 30-lap features paying $2,000 to the winner and a guaranteed starting spot in the Octoberfest 350. Race time is 1:30 p.m.



(30 cars) Race Leaders: (Bonebrake 1-20, Stuhler 21-25). 1. Gary Stuhler; 2. Wesley Bonebrake; 3. Devin Friese; 4. Doug Burkholder; 5. Rodney Sweitzer; 6. James Adkins; 7. Jim Bernheisel; 8. Dan Stone; 9. Sean Cosgrove; 10. Brent Smith; 11. Doug Elk; 12. Tim Wilson; 13. Drew Koteles; 14. Mike Lupfer; 15. Bill Karp; 16. Dave Reed; 17. Jeremy Stone; 18. Bobby Stokes; 19. Kirk Ryan Jr.; 20. Donnie Farlling; 21. Billy Wampler; 22. Greg Robertson; 23. Paul Carnell; 24. Marvin Winters. DNQ: Richard Sather: Rod Phillips; Scott Lupfer; Charlie Schaffer; Andy Fries; Roy Deese Jr. DQ for Unsportsmanlike Behavior.

20-LAP HOOSIER TIRES MID-ATLANTIC LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN FEATURE: (15 Cars) Race Leaders (Fedder 1-14, Rice 15-20) 1. Dave Rice Jr.; 2. Pete Weaver; 3. Travis Beaver; 4. Donnie Hedge; 5. Kris Eaton; 6. Steve Bailer; 7. Mike Spangler; 8. Mark Billet; 9. Tim Fedder; 10. Richard Walls; 11. Andy Holmes; 12. Larry Baer; 13. Jerry Fifields. DNS: Todd Bowers; Wesley Workman.

15-LAP ERNIE'S SALVAGE YARD PRE STOCK FEATURE: (20 Cars) Race Leaders (Conlee 1-15) 1. Euguene Conlee; 2. Brian Miller; 3. Hans Stamberg; 4. Jeff Bennett; 5. Jim Snyder; 6. Dean Holmes; 7. Steve Long; 8. Sam Kaiser; 9. Ricky Henry; 10. Country Prince; 11. Ashley Barrett; 12. Corey Oberholzer; 13. Glenn Holder; 14. Phil Madagan. DQ: Eric Johnson; DNS: Kim Ramer; Steve Lowory; Tim Wyles; Bruce Leibowitz; Mike Grady.

The Herald-Mail Articles