Mills wins at Speedway

February 26, 2002

Jamie Mills made a late race pass of Tim McCreadie to win the 35-lap modified feature and John Mason led all the way for the win in the ITSI late model feature in opening day action at Hagerstown Speedway on Sunday.

Mills and Mason each earned $2,000 and Mills received a preferred starting spot for the Eckert 300 at Super Dirt Week in Syracuse, N.Y. in October.

"We just took our time there in the beginning, didn't race too hard and when he started to get loose there at the end we began to race with him," Mills said.

McCreadie set the early pace from the outside pole while Mills worked his way from fifth to third by the fourth lap. Mills cleared Weaver one lap later to take over second and began to track down McCreadie.


McCreadie drifted high in the second turn on the lap 27 and Mills went underneath to take the lead down the backstretch. Once in front, Mills was able to pull away.

A.J. Romano finished second, but was disqualified when he came up five pounds light, giving McCreadie the second spot.

In the late model feature, Mason outgunned Kenny Pettyjohn at the drop of the green to take the lead going into turn 1. Pettyjohn stayed within striking distance as Mason opened a five car-length lead by lap 17. He tried to stick his nose underneath Mason in the first turn on lap 29, but backed off when Mason closed the hole and went on to his sixth win at Hagerstown.

"The car was really good today," Mason said. "It's a brand new car and it just worked great."

Hagerstown officially opens its 55th season on Sunday with the Grand Opening for the ITSI late models, Hoosier Tires Mid-Atlantic late model sportsman and the Ernie's Salvage Yard Pure Stocks.

Race time is 1:30 p.m. and general admission tickets are $9.

35-Lap Modified Syracuse Qualifier

1. Jamie Mills; 2. Tim McCreadie; 3. Brian Weaver; 4. Doug Hoffman; 5. Kevin Hirthler; 6. Jeff Strunk; 7. Brett Hearn; 8. Shawn Reimert; 9. Kenny Brightbill; 10. MeMe DeSantis.

11. Jared Schultz; 12. Ryan Watt; 13. Rick Shaffer; 14. Greg Mullins; 15. Doug Rose; 16. Jimmy Reppert; 17. Duane Howard; 18. Josh Skarzenski; 19. Jimmy Horton; 20. Rick Laubach.

21. Mike Colsten; 22. Craig VonDohren; 23. Bud Christman; DQ: A.J. Romano.

35-Lap Late Model Feature

1. John Mason; 2. Kenny Pettyjohn; 3. Charlie Schaffer; 4. Marvin Winters; 5. Gary Stuhler; 6. Rick Eckert; 7. Doug Burkholder; 8. Dan Stone; 9. Scott Haus; 10. Jim Bernheisel.

11. Rodney Franklin; 12. Keith Barbara; 13. Mike Hardy; 14. James Adkins; 15. Tim Wilson; 16. Greg Robertson; 17. Les Hare; 18. Bo Feathers; 19. Andy Anderson; 20. Devin Friese.

21. Frankie Plessinger; 22. Matt Urban; 23. Ernie Davis; 24. Luke Hoffner; 25. Wesley Bonebrake; 26. Paul Crowl; 27. Tim Booth; 28. Mike Lupfer.

The Herald-Mail Articles