Stage is set for Washington Co. wrestling meet

February 15, 2002

Stage is set for Washington Co. wrestling meet


Winning a championship is one thing, repeating is another. When area wrestlers take the mats Saturday in their respective county meets, several will be trying to attain gold again.

While some expect something of a North Hagerstown-Williamsport dual meet in the Washington County Tournament, several other county wrestlers will look to make a statement.

Of course, many others will be looking to make their final statement on the county level. Chris Joliet and Scott Greenwald of North, Mike Dietrich of Smithsburg and Travis Brown of Williamsport are some seniors who have yet to taste county gold but appear to be frontrunners this week.

Junior Steve Fravel of North is moving away after the season so you can expect him to be hot for gold, as well.


Meanwhile, Williamsport's Mike McGill appears to be the odds-on favorite to win at 103. Earlier this season, after winning the Hub Cup in which he was named the tournament's Outstanding Wrestler, McGill said he has big plans for his wrestling career.

"I want to win states three times and I want to get into the finals this year," McGill said.

As far as the team championship, North has a three-year reign. Williamsport, probably, is in the favorites' role. Williamsport has won four county titles, the last being in 1998. Smithsburg is the last county team other than North or Williamsport to win the title, last doing so in 1993.

Washington County

At Smithsburg

First round: 1 p.m. Finals: 5 p.m.

Returning two-time champion: Junior Steve Fravel (North Hagerstown). Won at 112 in 2000, 119 in 2001 and favored at 130.

Returning champions: Senior Brandon Ashby (South Hagerstown) won 103 as freshman, favored at 135. Senior Dustin McDonough (North) won 152 as junior, favored to repeat at 152. Senior Matt Allen (Williamsport) won 189 as junior, favored at 189. Junior Corey Leggett (Williamsport) won 103 as freshman, competes at 130. Junior Mike Wagner (North) won 103 as sophomore, favored at 112. Sophomore Ryan Bowers (Williamsport) won 125 as freshman, competes at 135. Sophomore Devin Hewitt (Williamsport) won at 112 as freshman, favored at 125.

Other favorites: Freshman Mike McGill (Williamsport at 103. Senior Chris Joliet (North) at 119. Senior Travis Brown (Williamsport) at 140. Senior Scott Greenwald (North) at 145. Senior Mike Dietrich (Smithsburg) at 160. Junior Nathan Mose (South) at 171. Junior Clayton Swisher (South) at 275.

HEIGHT="6" ALT="* "> The Frederick County tournament has many interesting storylines, as well. Walkersville will have to come up big to repeat as team champions, especially after a controversial tie in the dual meet season finale with Urbana.

An interesting weight class is 171. Walkersville's entry is Jimmy Francis, who lost to Thomas Johnson's entry Mark Esmont last year when both wrestlers were freshmen. Now, in their sophomore campaigns, Francis has gotten the better of Esmont twice, once by a major decision. Then, there's Middletown senior Colin Blair, who scored a win over Francis, but has lost to Esmont. By the way, Esmont is the top seed with Blair and Francis scheduled to meet in the semifinals.

Also, Middletown has been bitten hard this season by the injury bug. Senior Ryan McQuillen had only one loss before an injury put him on the sidelines, but he is expected to return Saturday.

Frederick County

At Urbana

First round: 10 a.m. Finals: 7:45 p.m.

Returning champions: Senior Nick Limparis (Urbana) won at 103 as freshman, won at 112 as sophomore, won at 125 as junior, competing at 130. Senior Chad Clusman (Urbana) won at 160 last year, competing at 160. Senior Ryan McQuillen (Middletown) won at 145 last year, competing at 152. Senior Andrew Nicklas (Middletown) won at 152, competing at 160. Senior Derek Fogle (Catoctin) won at 171, competing at 189. Senior Joey Lagos (Linganore) won at 103 last year, competing at 112. Junior Ed Asbill (Walkersville) won at 119 last year, competing at 130. Sophomore Dan Caywood (Walkersville) won at 112 last year, competing at 125.

Top seeds: Mike Gross (Urbana) at 103. Joey Lagos (Linganore) at 112. Chad Cotterman (Walkersville) at 119. Dan Caywood (Walkersville) at 125. Nick Limparis (Urbana) at 130. Danny Crum (Walkersville) at 135. Rick Toms (Catoctin) at 140. Andy Taylor (Urbana) at 145. Ryan McQuillen (Middletown) at 152. Chip Clusman (Urbana) at 160. Mark Esmont (TJ) at 171. Derek Fogle (Catoctin) at 189. Pat Harper (Urbana) at 275.

The Herald-Mail Articles