Tabbs eyes seat in new district

January 16, 2002

Tabbs eyes seat in new district

By RICHARD F. BELISLE / Staff Writer, Waynesboro

CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. - Bob Tabb, a Jefferson County farmer and nursery man who lost a close race to Del. John Doyle two years ago, is making another try for a seat in the West Virginia Legislature.

Tabb, 49, beat Doyle, D-55th, of Shepherdstown, W.Va., by two votes in the May 2000 Democratic primary but ended up losing by three votes when the ballots were counted in the canvass.

Tabb ran an unsuccessful write-in campaign in the general election.

He said he has filed for the new 56th Delegate District, which will cover parts of Jefferson and Berkeley counties.

The 2002 election will be a change for voters because reapportionment has added two new districts to the six existing ones in the three-county Eastern Panhandle.

The redistricting comes as the result of population growth in the region.

Pandhandle voters cast ballots in Districts 51 through 56 under the existing apportionment. The new map will add the 57th and 58th districts. The new maps are available for public viewing in the courthouses in Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan counties, officials in all three counties said.


The districts have also been renumbered.

A breakdown is as follows:

51st District: On the current map, Del. Charles Trump IV represents the 51st District, which covers all of Morgan County and part of Berkeley County.

The new redistricting map leaves part of Morgan County in the 51st, removes Berkeley County and adds a section of Hampshire County.

52nd District: On the current map, Del. Vicki Douglas represents the 52nd District, which covers the City of Martinsburg and Hedgesville areas. The new 52nd District map will include parts of Berkeley and Morgan counties.

53rd District: On the current map Del. Larry Faircloth represents the 53rd District, which is entirely in Berkeley County, mostly the southern sections. The new 53nd District map shows it will now run from the Potomac River, Back Creek Valley to the edge of the Sleepy Creek Wildlife Management Area, as well as take in much of the Arden area, according to Berkeley County Clerk John Small.

54th District: Del. John Overington represents the 54th District, which basically covers much of northern Berkeley County. The new district map covers the central part of Berkeley County, including the City of Martinsburg west to the Hedgesville line then along Back Creek and Tuscarora Creek, Small said.

55th District: On the current map, the 55th District was represented by Doyle in Jefferson County. The new map shows the 55th District entirely in Berkeley County. It will cover much of what the current 54th District now covers, including the northern sections and those east of Interstate 81 to the Jefferson County line, Small said.

56th District: On the current map, the 56th is represented by Del. Dale Manuel and lies entirely in Jefferson County, covering the City of Charles Town and environs. The new 56th District map splits the district between Jefferson and Berkeley counties. In Berkeley County it will cover the Vanclevesville and Nadenbousch Lane areas and U.S. 11 South to the Darkesville area, then east to the county line on the Opequon Creek on W.Va. 51, Small said.

In Jefferson County, the new 56th District will run from the county line on the Opequon east to the Leetown area, Middleway to the Charles Town city line, the areas along U.S. 340 west then south to the Rippon area near the Virginia state line, according to Deputy Clerk Debbie Pittinger.

57th District: The new 57th District takes in the Shepherdstown area, Kearneysville south to the Paynes Ford Road area, Shenandoah Junction, Bakerton, Halltown, Harpers Ferry and Bolivar to a portion of the Chestnut Hill area, Pittinger said.

58th District: The new 58th District takes in Charles Town and Ranson, the Tuscawilla Hills area, Kabletown, the area around Summit Point, Shannondale and U.S. 340 east to the Virginia line.

The Herald-Mail Articles