Local boards get reorganized

January 09, 2002

Local boards get reorganized

Franklin County, Pa.

By RICHARD F. BELISLE / Staff Writer, Waynesboro

Township and borough governments across Pennsylvania reorganize their boards in January with townships electing new chairpersons every year and boroughs new presidents every two years.

HEIGHT="6" ALT="* "> In Washington Township, Paul Benchoff, who enters his 17th year as a township supervisor, was sworn in as that board's chairman.

Arthur Cordell was elected vice chairman. Cordell was appointed to the board last year to replace the late Supervisor Quinter "Buzz" Baumgardner. Cordell won his own term in November.


The other three township supervisors are Richard Eigenbrode, James Kirby and Stewart McCleaf. McCleaf was elected in November to the seat vacated by John Beck.

Supervisors earn $50 for each meeting. They meet on the first and third Mondays at 7:30 p.m.

The township manager is Michael A. Christopher.

HEIGHT="6" ALT="* "> In Antrim Township, Robert Whitmore was elected chairman of the Township Supervisors. Larson Wenger was elected vice chairman.

The three other board members include Scott Diffenderfer, B.J. Roberts and James Byers.

The supervisors are paid $3,250 a year. They meet at 7 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesdays.

Antrim Township operates with two township managers - Ben Thomas and Teresa Schnoor.

HEIGHT="6" ALT="* "> In Waynesboro, Doug Tengler, 32, was elected Borough Council president for the next two years to succeed Dick Starliper. Starliper decided not to seek another council term.

Councilman Charles "Chip" McCammon was elected vice president.

The council's other members are Vicki Jo Huff, Allen W. Porter and Ardie Winters. Louis Barlup is mayor.

The council members are paid $75 a month. They meet on the first and third Wednesdays at 7:30 p.m.

Lloyd R. Hamberger II is the borough manager.

HEIGHT="6" ALT="* "> The Borough of Greencastle swore in Robert "Red" Pensinger as its mayor this week. Pensinger succeeds Frank Mowen, who served two terms but decided against seeking re-election.

Barbara Bock was re-elected council president. Harold Duffey was elected vice president.

The council's other members are W. Jean Oliver, Sydnae Vanner, Richard Walck, Donald Coldsmith and newcomer Charles Eckstine. who replaces Harry Myers.

The council members make $75 a month and the council president makes $100 a month. The council meets on the first Monday of the month.

Kenneth E. Myers is the Greencastle borough manager.

HEIGHT="6" ALT="* "> The Borough of Mercersburg elected Roger Difibaugh as council president. Ronald Simar was elected vice president.

Mercersburg's other council members are Thomas Heefner, Thomas Suddeth, Jeanne Rader, Brooks Harryman and Michelle Quattrociocchi.

Harold E. Wagner is the mayor.

The council members receive no salary. They meet on the second and fourth Tuesday.

The borough manager is Thelma J. Ambrose.

The Herald-Mail Articles