Roundup: Durboraw on winning streak

May 14, 2001

Roundup: Durboraw on winning streak

Nathan Durboraw ended a long winless streak last week, now he has a win streak going as the Hagerstown driver scored his second win in a row at the Hagerstown Speedway Saturday on Auto Locator Night. The win was Durboraw's 62nd career ITSI late model win.

"We never quit, we just kept plugging along," said Durboraw. "Bobby (Ballantine) our car owner, he understands, he was a racer, you just can't ask for any better car owner."

Marvin Winters notched his fifth win of the year in the 20-lap Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic late model sportsman feature. Brian Miller, of Hagerstown, won his first career win in the Ernie' Salvage Yard pure stocks. Kevin Durst, of Hancock, won the 30-lap enduro dash.

Next week, the Pennzoil Work of Outlaws make their annual visit to Hagerstown and will be joined by the ITSI late models. Race time is 8 with gates opening at 5.


25-Lap LATE MODEL FEATURE: 1. Nathan Durboraw; 2. Roy Deese Jr.; 3. Alan Sagi; 4. Buck Tomblin; 5. Brent Smith; 6. Devin Friese; 7. James Adkins Jr.; 8. Charlie Schaffer; 9. Timmy Booth; 10. Andy Fries; 11. Doug Burkholder; 12. Frankie Plessinger; 13. Jeff Leiphart; 14. Ron Ellis; 15. Mark Elksnis; 16. Donnie Farling. DNS: Jim Griffith.

20-LAP HOOSIER TIRE MID-ATLANTIC LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN FEATURE: 1. Marvin Winters; 2. Richard Walls; 3. Dave Rice Jr.; 4. Scott Palmer; 5. Barry Miller; 6. Daryl Kendall; 7. Wayne Walls Jr.; 8. Mike Atherton; 9. Scott Sipe; 10. Dave Neff; 11. Richard Clipp; 12. Bob Friese; 13. Ryan Donley; 14. Nick Pappas; 15. Kenny Day; 16. Charles Hagerge.

15-LAP ERNIE'S SALVAGE YARD PURE STOCK FEATURE: Brian Miller; 2. Mike Warrenfeltz; 3. Bruce Leibowitz; 4. Eugene Conlee; 5. Kim Ramer; 6. Keith Reed; 7. Steve Long; 8. Denny Saunders; 9. Jeff Bennett; 10. Steve Lowery; 11. Greg Hockensmith; 12. Mike Sanders; 13. Steve Marsh; 14. Jim Snyder; 15. Frank Dibella; 16. Hans Stamberg; 17. Greg Moats; 18. Kevin Shade; 19. Rick Stouffer Jr.; 20. James Andrews; 21. Jeff Johnson; 22. Jesse Coleman; 23. Harold Prince; 24. Billy Ecton. DNS: Ronnie Dennis; Kenny Dillon; Sam Kaiser.

30-LAP ENDURO DASH: 1. Kevin Durst; 2. Krazy Kenny Thomas; 3. Kenny Thomas; 4. Jim Mullendore; 5. Patrick Murphy; 6. Steve Dillon; 7. Derek Riley; 8. Darrin Williams; 9. Steve Thompson; 10. Jimmy Parrill; 11. John Poole; 12. Tim Bookens; 13. Barry Jones; 14. Bobby Moore; 15. Kevin Herrin; 16. Sherman Lynn; 17. William Silkworth; 18. Danny Holmes; 19. Nancy Ecton; 20. Tony Ford; 21. J. R. Miller; 22. Michael Centrex; 23. Larry Hurley; 24. Sam Shank; 25. William Crook; 26. JL Eichelberger; 27. James Mongan.


Hagerstown Braves 3, Chambersburg Rockies 2: Eric Sheetz and Nathan Butts combined on a three hitter as Hagerstown won its opening game on Saturday.


Hagerstown PONY League

FOP 15, Elks 5: Josh Bowers struck out 10 and had two hits, including a home run, Jordan Beard had three hits, including a homer, Scott Keeney had two hits, including a homer, and Andy Morris had two hits for FOP. Matt Fortefe and Nick Adenhart had two hits for Elks.

Clear Spring Minor League

Pirates 12, Blue Jays 11: Ronnie Maners had three hits hits, including an inside-the-park homer, for the Pirates. Tommy Wolfe had three hits for the Blue Jays.

Smithsburg Cal Ripken League

Mace Auto Body 8, Bair Pools 5: Ron Ianaro had 13 strikeouts and Jesse Smith had two hits for Mace. Zach Cunningham had two hits for Bair.

Phil and Jerry's 17, Scott's Speed Shop 15: Cody Blickenstaff and Tyler Iyler had two hits for Phil and Jerry's. Shane Ganley had four hits, inclsuing an inside-the-park home run, and Aaron Dinterman had two hits for Scott's.


Eddie's/South End Tavern wins tourney

Eddie's/South End Tavern went 5-0 to win the Pinesburg Invitational. Wes Routzhan, Chad Hartman, Mike Metz and Mike Palmer batted over .700. Brent Raley, Barry Petty andJeromy Keckler batted over .600 in the tourney.

The Herald-Mail Articles