Business briefs

April 21, 2001

Business briefs

Huntington Mortgage

Barbara Kershner, of Huntington Mortgage Co., was named to the President's Club 2000 based on her mortgage loan volume last year.

Kershner, assistant vice president, is a mortgage originator in the company's Hagerstown office.

Lutheran Home Care Services

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - Lutheran Home Care Services has named Beth Zeiler Employee of the Month for April.

Zeiler, of Shippensburg, Pa., is the data processor in the Franklin County office.

She has been with the agency for 81/2 years.

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort

The 90-acre Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort near Hagerstown has been recognized with a top award within its franchise group.

The camp resort, near the I-81 and I-70 interchange, received the Jellystone Park franchise system's 2000 Facility of the Year award for ongoing improvement and for adding new amenities and facilities.


Owned by Ron and Vicki Vitkun and managed by Cheryl Smith, the camp-resort opened in 1973 and converted to the Jellystone system in 1995.

Mackintosh Realtors

FREDERICK, Md. - Mackintosh Realtors' Frederick office recently announced its top sales associates for March.

Nancy Green was Top Producer, Michael Kurtianyk received Top Sales honors and Brian Greenberg was Top Lister.

Menno Haven

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - Menno Haven Chaplain Bob Keener recently accepted his formal certification by the Association of Professional Chaplains at the association's annual convention in Denver.

The certification requires a one-year residency as a staff chaplain. Afterward, an examination committee reviews the chaplain's ministry experience.

Keener was ordained by the Mennonite Church as a minister after serving seven years as a schoolteacher.

He will continue his Association of Professional Chaplains studies with 50 hours of continuing education each year.

Century 21 M.G. Realty

The Beaver Bunch, Donald & Sally Beaver, of Century 21 M.G. Realty, have received a Centurion Team Award from Century 21 Real Estate Corp. for their outstanding production in 2000. The award goes to teams generating a minimum of $225,000 in adjusted gross commissions or participating in closings on 75 or more units during the year.

Also, Donald A. Beaver has been recognized for achieving masters level status by meeting minimum adjusted gross commissions or unit requirements during his first year in the Masters Program.

Jefferson Memorial Hospital

RANSON, W.Va. - Dan Burhans, of Charles Town, W.Va., was recently elected as Jefferson Memorial Hospital's newest board member.

Burhans, an investment representative for Edward Jones Investments, has lived in Jefferson County for 24 years.

Small Business Development Center

FREDERICK, Md. - The Small Business Development Center in Frederick County has announced the addition of Jennifer Rodgers to its consulting staff.

Rodgers previously worked as the operations manager for Target Investigations in Gaithersburg, Md.

The center offers technical assistance and counseling on financial, marketing, procurement and import/export issues.

Landis Gardner

WAYNESBORO, Pa. - Landis Gardner employees were recognized for their years of service recently at the company's annual service awards banquet.

They include Ronald D. Hanson and Robert E. Hovis, 45 years; Richard E. Bartles, Paul S. Ebersole, Russell E. Kaiser Jr., Jackie C. Kauffman, Lee G. Layman, Charles H. Lowe, Gary E. Miller, Terry L. Mowbray, Homer E. Winters and Ronald L. Zeger, 40 years; Ronald W. Bachtell, Arthur C. Beeler, Frank L. Bingaman, William S. Bowders, Herbert U. Brown Jr., Donald W. Canby, Jeffrey G. Fitz, Robert C. Hahn Jr., Larry D. Harnish, Richard D. Miller, Raymond A. Noll Jr., Robert E. Pentz, Richard L. Sanders, Edward W. Scott, Truster L. Shade, Earl R. Shockey, Jay R. Slaybaugh, Wayne A. Winters and Dennis L. Yeakle, 35 years; Glen M. Baldner, Samuel T. Butts, David L. Deatrich, Merle R. Fry, Ronald W. Mellott, Gary L. Minnick, Luther C. Sanders, Donald C. Schildt and Timothy M. Wolff, 30 years; Carolyn T. Carson, Steven M. Crunkleton, Samuel A. Mull, Robert L. Poole, Robert W. Shockey Sr., John L. Stahl, Kenneth R. Stitely, Toni T. Vaughn and Melody A. Walter, 25 years; and James B. Beckner, Aron Brall, Raymond S. Etter Jr., Gregory G. Guise, Timothy W. Hykes, Edward J. Kerlin, Bruce B. Lehman, Marlin E. McCulloh, Timothy A. McCulloh, Frederick R. Middaugh, Nicola F. Minardi, Kenneth E. Misner Jr., Daryl L. Myers, Vernon A. Peters, Timothy W. Rahn, Kevin A. Royer, Darris L. Smith, Judy K. Smith and Jeffrey L. Walker, 20 years.

Dr. Scott P. Worrell

Dr. Scott P. Worrell, of Hagerstown, was inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons recently during ceremonies at the academy's 68th annual meeting in San Francisco.

Worrell was one of 622 new fellows inducted.

Worrell, an orthopedic specialist and sports medicine practitioner since 1996, is an orthopedic surgeon at Robinwood Orthopedic Specialists in Hagerstown.

The Herald-Mail Articles