Four to run for treasurer in Franklin County

March 11, 2001

Four to run for treasurer in Franklin County

By DON AINES / Staff Writer

Three Republicans and one Democrat filed petitions last week to replace Franklin County Treasurer Steven C. Minnich, who announced last year he would not run for a third, four-year term.

The GOP candidates for the May 15 primary are Richard A. Starliper and Matthew E. Earl, both of Waynesboro, Pa.; Chris Bender of Fayetteville, Pa.; and Derek J. Stoy of Fort Loudon, Pa., according to petitions filed with the Franklin County Commissioners Office.

Starliper, 63, is president of the Waynesboro Borough Council and works in the accounts payable department at Landis Gardner in Waynesboro. Bender, 39, is the tax collector for Guilford Township.

Stoy, 23, is an appraiser for the Franklin County Tax Services Office and is a Fannett-Metal School Board director. Earl, 26, is the acting purchasing agent for the Franklin County Purchasing Department.


Minnich, of Waynesboro, will leave office at the end of the year. The Republican said he was leaving office to devote more time to his family and a business he owns. The treasurer's office is responsible for issuing hunting, fishing and dog licenses, as well as licenses to clubs and organizations for small games of chance. The office is also responsible for making deposits from other county agencies to area banks and handling the investment of surplus county funds.

The treasurer also sits on the county's Retirement Board. According to Franklin County Salary Board records, the treasurer's salary for 2001 is $46,251.

The only other countywide office up for election this year is jury commissioner and the two incumbents are unopposed. Each political party has one jury commissioner and the election is decided in the primary. Allen V. Twigg of Chambersburg is the GOP jury commissioner and Rowe B. Byers holds the Democratic post.

Jury commissioners help select jury pools for the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas. The part-time office pays $9,732 annually.

There will be little for voters to choose from in the races for township supervisor, tax collector or Chambersburg Area School Board seats in the townships surrounding Chambersburg, since almost all the incumbents are running without primary opposition. In St.Thomas Township, however, Republican Supervisor Ed Herald will face a challenge from James E. Light in the GOP primary.

Democrat Richard Walls is also running for the six-year seat on the Board of Supervisors.

In Lurgan Township, Republican Supervisor Bob Boyd, who was appointed last year, is running unopposed for a two-year term.

Thomas Todd is running for the Democratic nomination.

With only about 200 residents, Orrstown, Pa., is the least populous municipality in Franklin County. In recent years it has also had few takers for public office when it comes to elections. In the mid-1990s Franklin County President Judge John R. Walker had to appoint the mayor and borough council when all of the offices were vacant.

This year, however, there are candidates for the three major offices up for election. Mayor Betty A. Hancock is running for re-election, and Jeryl S. George, an incumbent Republican, is running for a two-year seat on the borough council. Incumbent Heather O. Deutsch is running for the GOP nomination to a four-year seat on the council and Carol Stouffer is running for the Democratic nomination.

The list of Republican candidates for county, local and school board offices at the courthouse ran to almost 200 names and the number of Democratic candidates to more than 100, according to commissioners' office records. Deputy Chief Clerk Jean Byers said, however, that many of those are for judge of elections and inspector of elections posts that run the polling places on election days.

Each of the county's 75 precincts has a judge of elections and two inspectors of elections and Byers said there were candidates more than half those 225 offices.

Thursday, March 15, at 2 p.m. lots will be cast at the Franklin County Administrative Annex, 218 N. Second St., to determine ballot position for candidates in contested races.

The Herald-Mail Articles