Hancock incumbents re-elected

January 30, 2001

Hancock incumbents re-elected


HANCOCK - Hancock's mayor and two incumbent councilmen kept their seats during a town election Monday evening.

Councilman Darwin Mills Sr. was the top vote-getter with 273 votes, followed by Councilman Greg Yost with 110 votes, according to town officials.

Challenger John Norris took home 95 votes and James Ward Sr. received 65 votes.

Mayor Daniel Murphy ran unopposed and received 218 votes.

"I try to do my best for the Town of Hancock and they rewarded me," said Mills, who has been on council since 1996.

He was grateful for the town's confidence in him, said the 59-year-old Maryland correctional officer.

Mills is a former Hancock police officer and police chief.

As a council member, he worked on several projects, including improving crosswalk safety, making improvements at the post office to avoid hazards and moving the library to its present point at the park, he said.


Councilman Yost, 45, is a data entry manager for Direct Mail Processors.

Yost said before the election that he wants to continue working on the next phase of Streetscape as well as getting the state to make improvements on the first phase, which resulted in damage to some sidewalks.

Yost said he also would like the former G.C. Murphy building at 42-50 W. Main St., which was donated to the town in July, put to use.

Murphy, 48, a veterinarian, has served as mayor since 1996 and was on the Town Council from 1992 to 1996.

"I'm looking forward to and anticipate good things coming our way over the next two years," said Murphy.

There are several uncompleted projects on which he'd like to continue working as mayor, he said prior to the election.

They include the second phase of Streetscape, a state program to improve sidewalks and roads and renovation of the Monterey House, he said.

A total of 318 people voted including 28 absentee ballots. Michael Sutphin, who dropped out of the Town Council race prior to the election, received one write-in absentee ballot.

The Town Council serves four-year terms and the mayor serves a two-year term.

The Herald-Mail Articles