New members join School Board

December 05, 2000

New members join School Board

By TARA REILLY / Staff Writer

photo: RICHARD T. MEAGHER / staff photographer

school board membersFour Washington County School Board members elected in November were sworn in Tuesday by Clerk of Circuit Court Dennis Weaver.

Doris Nipps, the only incumbent to be re-elected, was sworn in first followed by Edward Forrest, Roxanne Ober and Bernadette Wagner.

All were elected to four-year terms.

"It was nice to do this again," Nipps said.

She has spent six years in office.

The three new board members replace B. Marie Byers, Edwin Hayes and Andrew Humphreys. Byers chose not to seek re-election after 30 years on the board, and Hayes and Humphreys were defeated in their bids for re-election.

The swearing-in ceremony was followed by a reception, a brief School Board reorganization meeting and a work session.

At the reorganization meeting, board member J. Herbert Hardin was appointed to lead the board as president and Wagner was appointed vice president. Both received unanimous 6-0 votes. Paul Bailey was absent.


Hardin, a former principal at Williamsport High School replaces Bailey as president.

"I'm hoping that I do perform at the level you expect me to," he said. "I do believe that we have to have a vision ... We need to communicate with our constituents."

Hardin was elected in 1998 and is beginning his third year on the School Board.

School Board members make $4,800 per year. The president makes $100 more.

At the work session members discussed changing the times of business meetings and work sessions and possibly shortening the length of the meetings.

Most of the members said work sessions are too long and some of the content of the meetings could be eliminated or spread out over more meetings.

Wagner suggested holding one work session a week. Board member Mary Wilfong said many of the presentations to the board at work sessions should be held at the televised business meetings. That way, she said, more people could see the progress the school system is making.

The School Board meets the first and third Tuesdays of every month. Work sessions are held at 10 a.m., followed by executive sessions and business meetings at 7 p.m.

The board plans to discuss the structure of the meetings this month and in January.

The Herald-Mail Articles