Hancock prepares to elect 2 to council

November 30, 2000

Hancock prepares to elect 2 to council

By SCOTT BUTKI / Staff Writer

When Hancock residents vote in the Jan. 29, 2001 town election, they will have a chance to cast ballots for mayor and Town Council members.

Incumbent Mayor Daniel E. Murphy is running unopposed for a third two-year term.

Councilmen Greg Yost and Darwin Mills are seeking re-election to four-year terms. They will be challenged by Michael Sutphin, James Ward and John Norris.

Sutphin, Ward and Norris could not be reached for comment Wednesday evening.

Wednesday night at 5 p.m. was the deadline to file to run in the election.

The election marks the first time Murphy has run unopposed for the mayoral position. In 1998, he ran against Roland Lanehart Sr. In 1996, Lanehart filed to run for mayor but later dropped out of the race. Former Hancock Police Chief James C. McAulay also ran against Murphy in 1996.


Murphy said he encourages residents to vote because he doesn't want the lack of a mayoral contest to deter voters.

Having no competition for his job will allow him to focus on his mayoral duties without the distractions of a campaign, Murphy said.

Mills had previously said he would seek to remain in elected office but had not decided which position. On Wednesday he said he decided he wants to continue working with Murphy.

Murphy is a good mayor and the council has made progress under his leadership, Mills said.

"We have been able to work together and solve some problems," said Mills.

Yost could not be reached for comment Wednesday.

The terms of the other two councilmen, David Smith and Randy Pitman, expire in two years.

The mayor's job pays $800 a year. Council members earn $600 a year.

Residents have until Jan. 4 to register to vote for the Jan. 29 election.

In prior elections residents had until the Saturday before the Monday election to register.

Residents have until Jan. 15 to request an absentee ballot, instead of having to wait until the day before to pick them up, as they have in past elections.

The Herald-Mail Articles