Hagerstown wins PONY tourney

August 06, 2000

Hagerstown wins PONY tourney


WOONSOCKET, R.I. - It was quite a weekend for Hagerstown's PONY All-Stars.

Hagerstown completed an overpowering run through the Zone tournament on Sunday by defeating New Bedford, Mass., 10-2 in the championship for a berth in the PONY World Series next weekend.

"We're thrilled," manager Rick Suder said. "We told the boys that each tournament we go to, we have to pick up our level of play. So far, we've done that. We'll see if we can pick it up one more level."

Hagerstown outscored its opponents 27-3 in winning all three games it played.

T.J. Hose struck out 10 on Sunday to earn the win. Hagerstown pitchers allowed just 10 hits in the three games.


"Pitching was one thing we weren't worried about," Suder said. "We got five, six, seven kids who can throw the ball fairly decent."

Josh Mitchell hit two home runs and David Miner and Luther Davis each added homers against New Bedford.

"For us to hit the long ball like that is really unusual," Suder said. "It was pretty amazing, cause we're not a big power-hitting team."

Hagerstown opens play at the World Series in Washington, Pa., on Sunday against host Washington at 8 p.m. Opening ceremonies are Saturday.

Thurman Smith Tournament

Halfway 22, Conococheague 5: Dillin Zimmerman, Chris McSherry and Joey Miller all had two hits for Halfway. Hunter Bowman and Mike Fredlock had two hits for Conococheague.

American 8, Sharpsburg 4: Dominique Byrd had two hits, including a home run, while Gerald Tonsil, Billy Campbell and A.J. Lockley had two hits for American. Dan Schell had two hits for Sharpsburg.


Dillon wins Cornett Memorial

Kenny Dillon came from 23rd position Saturday night to win the 20-lap Jimmy Cornett Memorial.

Dillon claimed the lead from Bruce Leibowitz on lap 16 and held on for the victory. Dave Rice Jr. got up for second and Leibowitz finished third.

Andy Anderson won the Late Models feature race, starting from the 13th position and taking the lead on lap 9 for his first victory of the season.

Doug Burkholder took his first victory of the year in the Late Model Sportsman feature race, starting from 9th place to take the lead on lap 8.

The Herald-Mail Articles